Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Pros: Density, Texture, and Small Crumb are perfect for carving. Because of density it holds up things well ie: a perched Gumpaste/Fondant Plane perched nicely without indentation. Doesn't compress when fondant is placed on, no settling which can make pooches in your fondant. Cons: Flavor: leans on the eggy side which is fine for me because it's reminiscent of pastry cream but not to everyones taste. IMPORTANT: Definitely requires the addition of salt. I added 1/2 tsp of salt which did the trick. Recommendation's to improve flavoring..I used lemon extract instead of vanilla which made it resemble cheesecake flavoring. I would recommend other flavors that play well with egg like cream cheese flavored bakery emulsion, orange extract, chocolate extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was okay. It turned out dry for me, but great for carving. I sculpted the hills for my son's 1st birthday car cake. Probably would use this again, but may use an extra bit of something to make it more moist, without wanting to grab a glass of milk :-(. Hoping freezing it increases the moisture and it's a good leftover cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Ok, I made this pound cake recipe, this afternoon. I only made one change. After reading many of the reviews and seeing that some people were saying the cake came out a bit eggy, I used 1 whole jumbo egg and 6 egg whites from 6 jumbo eggs. I threw away the yolk. And that's the only change I made. My husband loves this cake. It has the perfect amount of sweetness and just the right amount of crumb. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. One thing.... if I use pure vanilla extract, 2 T is way too much vanilla. However, the artificial extract is fine with 2 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very good cake and worked great for sculpting! I added 1 less egg based on other reviews. Also be carful not to over cook it. It will get hard very fast! I also used almond extract instead of vanilla and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Love this cake!! I did make a couple of changes though after reading some reviews. I only used 5 eggs and since I'm gluten free/wheat free I used Bob Red Mill all purpose flour and 1/2 tsp of xanthem gum for the binding agent. It turned out super moist, no one could tell it was gf/wf and there was none left at the end of the BBQ :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Just what a pound cake should be! We had some heavy whipping cream that needed to be used up so I chose this recipe. Not too sweet and not too dense. We intended to add strawberries to the top but it was so delicious that we gobbled it up without the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUHRAYCEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this cake but I cut back on the eggs because other reviewers said that it was too eggy. I used four eggs and I am glad that I did. This cake was too dense for my taste but definitely a cake for molding. It taste good but I like a moist, soft cake. If you like cake that are extremely dense then this is the cake for you. I had to have a glass of milk to put it down. I wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Wow! I've been on the hunt for the perfect pound cake and... this is it! The smell is delightful, the taste is wonderful, and most importantly, the texture is HEAVENLY. Follow the recipe! The method is important. The taste of the raw batter was reminiscent of Angel food cake. The baked cake was light, spongy, and dense all at the same time. Absolutely wonderful! It made the best strawberry shortcake we've ever had. Thank you so much for this recipe. We'll be using it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States