Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Ok, I made this pound cake recipe, this afternoon. I only made one change. After reading many of the reviews and seeing that some people were saying the cake came out a bit eggy, I used 1 whole jumbo egg and 6 egg whites from 6 jumbo eggs. I threw away the yolk. And that's the only change I made. My husband loves this cake. It has the perfect amount of sweetness and just the right amount of crumb. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. One thing.... if I use pure vanilla extract, 2 T is way too much vanilla. However, the artificial extract is fine with 2 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very good cake and worked great for sculpting! I added 1 less egg based on other reviews. Also be carful not to over cook it. It will get hard very fast! I also used almond extract instead of vanilla and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Love this cake!! I did make a couple of changes though after reading some reviews. I only used 5 eggs and since I'm gluten free/wheat free I used Bob Red Mill all purpose flour and 1/2 tsp of xanthem gum for the binding agent. It turned out super moist, no one could tell it was gf/wf and there was none left at the end of the BBQ :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Just what a pound cake should be! We had some heavy whipping cream that needed to be used up so I chose this recipe. Not too sweet and not too dense. We intended to add strawberries to the top but it was so delicious that we gobbled it up without the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUHRAYCEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this cake but I cut back on the eggs because other reviewers said that it was too eggy. I used four eggs and I am glad that I did. This cake was too dense for my taste but definitely a cake for molding. It taste good but I like a moist, soft cake. If you like cake that are extremely dense then this is the cake for you. I had to have a glass of milk to put it down. I wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Wow! I've been on the hunt for the perfect pound cake and... this is it! The smell is delightful, the taste is wonderful, and most importantly, the texture is HEAVENLY. Follow the recipe! The method is important. The taste of the raw batter was reminiscent of Angel food cake. The baked cake was light, spongy, and dense all at the same time. Absolutely wonderful! It made the best strawberry shortcake we've ever had. Thank you so much for this recipe. We'll be using it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter and it completely overflowed my cake pans and ran all over my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolyna

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
EXCELLENT cake. Perfect texture, dense, moist, held up well for a sculpted wedding cake. I creamed the butter and sugar mixture for a good 6-7 minutes in my stand mixer, then beat the butter/sugar/egg mixture for another 4-5 minutes before adding the remaining ingredients. I also added a scant teaspoon of almond extract. Since this cake is so deliciously rich, I'm not sure I'd want to serve it with a typical amount of buttercream frosting. I covered the cake with a very thin layer of buttercream and fondant; any more than that would've been too much, to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States