Whipped Sweet Potatoes with Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Thank you for posting this recipe! I couldn't locate my copy from last year. This dish is a treat! Sweet potatoes and pears make a wonderful combo and it's a nice change from the standard marshmallow topped casserole. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Delicious! This was a piece of cake to make. I tossed the potatoes in my stand mixer to whip them, added the sauce, added the other ingredients and the cooked pears, turned on medium high and we were all set. This was very easy to make, and very good to eat! My two year old loved it, as did my in-laws. We'll definitely have this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is a GREAT recipe. A little different from the standard "sweet potatoe casserole". Delicious! The pears really give this dish a wonderful flavor - I even used canned pears, and instead of OJ, I used some of the reserved liquid from the can of pears. So good! (If you must, you can even throw some marshmallows on top for those marshmallow loyalists!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Very good! Note to self: Omit the milk to make them a bit stiffer. When scaled down to 3 servings (which is more like 6 for a side dish on a holiday) use 3 small sweet potatoes, 1 1/2 pears simmered in a tablespoon of water and 3/4 tsp vanilla until tender, a tablespoon of butter and a little less than 1/4 tsp cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Oh. My. God. I *just* finished making this and while I am the only person who has tasted it so far, (it's for T-giving tomorrow) I am absolutely floored by the wonderful mix of flavors... it filled my house with the most terrific smells and I cannot wait to bake it one more time and serve it! Yummmmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Yummy! I toasted the walnuts prior to adding them to the mashed potatoes to give an extra nutty taste: it was so good I didn't even add sugar! Next time, I might use one or two extra pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Wow, this one stole the show from the Turkey!! My dad went for three helpings and so this recipe will make it all the way to Switzerland since my parents just have to have it!! Due to time constraints I also used canned pears but it didn't seem to hurt the recipe at all. I will make this one over and over again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damaris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
A new twist on an old favorite. I loved adding the pears.....I even used an extra one. I didn't have enough sweet potatoes on hand (I used canned), so I added canned sliced carrots to the mix and it turned out great. I'm taking it to work tomorrow for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This recipe got rave reviews at Thanksgiving. It's a nice twist on mashed sweet pototoes. I used 1/2 canned pears and 1/2 Anjou pears. Instead of OJ I used the pear juice leftover in the can. Easy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This dish had a nice combination of flavors and not overly sweet like most sweet potato casseroles. I made it last year for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it and requested it for this year also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States