Whipped Sweet Potatoes with Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Used white sweet potatoes and backed off on the brown sugar a bit, and it turned out well. FYI, this is not a 20-minute prep time! Plan for at least an hour, with the peeling and slicing time on top of everything else! Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Great recipe. Although, we are trying to watch our sugar intake. I left out the brown sugar, milk and orange juice (didn't have the OJ) . It was plenty sweet enough and was a great addition to our Sunday dinner. Next time I may add a couple eggs to make it stiffer and sprinkle the nuts on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Delicious! I will absolutely make this again. SOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was quite nice but it's pretty sweet. Has a dessert-ish quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is Divine! Instead of evaporated milk I used just a splash or two of half and half when cooking the pears and did not use ANY sugar-the pears are sweet enough. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Wow, this one stole the show from the Turkey!! My dad went for three helpings and so this recipe will make it all the way to Switzerland since my parents just have to have it!! Due to time constraints I also used canned pears but it didn't seem to hurt the recipe at all. I will make this one over and over again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damaris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Very good! Note to self: Omit the milk to make them a bit stiffer. When scaled down to 3 servings (which is more like 6 for a side dish on a holiday) use 3 small sweet potatoes, 1 1/2 pears simmered in a tablespoon of water and 3/4 tsp vanilla until tender, a tablespoon of butter and a little less than 1/4 tsp cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I usually don't bother making sweet potatoes because my family doesn't care for the traditional overly sweet versions topped with marshmallows. Everyone really liked this recipe. It can be made ahead of time and I think it tastes even better reheated a couple of days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
A new twist on an old favorite. I loved adding the pears.....I even used an extra one. I didn't have enough sweet potatoes on hand (I used canned), so I added canned sliced carrots to the mix and it turned out great. I'm taking it to work tomorrow for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was fantastic! I will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States