Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is the dish my kids request every year for thanksgiving. I back off on the sugar a little sometimes since there are marshmallows, but always add a 1/4 stick of butter to help the flavor, otherwise it tastes a little too sickening sweet. And if you're not getting much fat from other places in your meal, the butter fat helps you absorb all that great Vitamin A in the sweet potato! I use canned sweet potatoes if I'm short on time, which does add sugar to the dish, so back off on sugar if using canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Fabulous! The orange juice is a wonderful addition. My daughter made a crunchy pecan topping which added a bit of yummy crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Fantastic - swapped the marshmallow topping for a mix of 2 tbsp melted butter, some crushed Total cereal and a little brown sugar. Even my non-sweet potato eating husband liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CallMeBetty
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I upped the recipe to make for 20 and used canned to save me from peeling 8 lbs of sweet potatoes. Loved it! Would like to try cinnamon in it and a few nuts. I think this is good as it's written as well as being a great base to add according to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StamperDog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipe was simple and delicious! I added in 1 tbsp of vanilla extract and a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the recipe also. YUMM!I want nuts with the marshmallows on top as well-my family was all skeptical to eat sweet potatoes....NOW they love them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda
Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Awesome! I added all spice and cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
My huband and I didn't really care for this. It just seemed to be missing something. I may try adding cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I use canned sweet potatoes - quick, easy & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
not sure if I like all the marshmellows on the top, make sure not to put to much orange juice in it, it changes the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I make this every Thanksgiving because it's been requested every year by both sides of my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ju Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States