Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit. I used ramekins instead of a casserole dish and filled each ramekin 1/2 full and made seven ramekins. They are rich and sweet so the size was perfect. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of 3/4 and it was plenty. The marshmallows melted into almost nothing, so don't overcook and you can add extra marshmallows. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gecko1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I increased the recipe to feed 12 & I liked the idea of individual servings so well that I copied allrecipes. ;o) I used large ramekins for the adults & small ramekins for teh kids & then served them on antique china dessert plates. I didn't fill them all the way up so I could really load on the marshmallows. I also sprinkled some chopped walnuts on before topping w/ the marshmallows. These tasted great & looked even better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Great recipe! I made it with canned sweet potatoes. Thought I made too much (used 3- 40 oz cans)and we would be eating leftovers forever after Thanksgiving. But everyone wanted to take home the leftovers! They loved it! So quick and easy. It was like a yummy dessert. Will absolutely make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I don't even usually like sweet potatoes and even I liked it! My family devoured it and wanted the recipe as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Yummy! Super simple to make even for a first effort! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I used a little less brown sugar and added some rum-soaked raisins to vary the texture. It was a treat and everyone asked for it at the next family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
We found this recipe to be way too sweet for our tastes. I guess marshmallows just don't fit into our family's menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Pretty good recipe. I only put 1/8 tsp of nutmeg but it was really strong. Im not a huge fan of nutmeg so next time I might omit it. I also added 3 tablespoons of butter instead of 2 to make it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I don't like sweet potatoes in general, so I am somewhat biased in my review. However, I have tried one or two recipes in the past that I have really liked - plus my husband likes sweet potatoes, so I gave this recipe a try. Somehow it didn't turn out how I expected. Husband thought it was OK, and I didn't care for it much. Texture was not right and I thought it too sweet. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
These were wonderful. I made these as a side to the Tangy Honey glazed ham, and they were a wonderful accompaniment. The hint of orange juice complimented the tangy flavor of the ham. I usually use maple syrup to sweeten yams, but I think this combo of OJ and brown sugar is better. I will make these whenever I make whipped sweet potatoes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOU2U1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States