Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
A favorite every Thanksgiving. I substitute crushed pineapple for orange juice because I prefer the flavor and texture. Thank you for this easy and delicious family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peglaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Just finished making this, and yeah it's pretty delicious. I didn't use the brown sugar, marshmallow or nutmeg and used yams as opposed to sweet potatoes. Here's what I did: I finely chopped about 20 dates in the food processor, for sweetness. I added the yams, sprinkling with cinnamon as it pureed, then the butter, pre-melted, a dash of salt and the orange juice. Smoothed into the casserole dish, then prepared my topping. In a bowl I added approximately 2 tablespoons of melted butter to about 1/2 cup of labne (Middle Eastern yogurt which I use as a substitute for cream cheese, sour cream, and more). Mixed in a splash of vanilla, about 2 teaspoons of sugar, whipped it up by hand, then smoothed over the sweet potatoes. The finishing touch: A handful of pecans and one date finely chopped together in the food processor, then sprinkled over the casserole. Bake according to directions. Usually tasting as you go is a good way to avoid anything funky. Trust your gut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a very good recipe. A nice change from the really sweet, sweet potato recipes. I did cut back on the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I loved loved this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I really loved this recipe! I will be making this again. I might try putting some pecans in I the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I added a dash of cayenne pepper that give it a little extra kick to make it a huge hit at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This recipe needs salt. There has to be enough salt to bring out the flavor and temper the sweetness a bit. I kept adding pinches of salt to the whipped mixture until it tasted right (for me). I ended up using about 1 teaspoon, but your mileage may vary. With the added salt, this recipe was excellent, and I didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I added cream cheese frosting... AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Made this as written, for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it! It was the only dish that had no leftovers, it was eaten up! This will be my recipe for Sweet Potatoes, and I not waiting for Thanksgiving to make it again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
It was good - I put in too much orange juice though. A little orange juice goes a long way in this recipe. I used big marshmallows cut in half, and they didn't work well. It's best to use the mini marshmallows. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States