Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I'm a fan. These were delicate and delicious. No problems with the cooking--am enjoying every bite. I found them a little delicate for a cookie tray, but that said, I wouldn't hesitate to share them with friends--just be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These are super easy to make- I used my stand mixer. I did not use any cherries but I put sprinkles on them. They are ok cookies, but nothing spectacular. Very interesting texture though; light and airy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Not so great straight from the oven, but the next day they are TO DIE FOR GOOD! I used a star tip on my pastry bag to make them extra special. Taste just like grandmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlyone123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is a really rich and awesome cookie. The flavour is just like shortbread, but the texture is not - it is so much lighter. I made the cookies as written and rolled them into balls with oiled hands and baked (no cherries). Once they had cooled I half dipped them in chcolate. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
OMG - these are delicious! I made two batches. I did not have cherries on hand - so I made a little indent and used smuckers low sugar strawberry jelly. On the second batch i just added about 1/4 more confectioner sugar. As the other review said - mix longer. First cream the butter for 5mins then I added the conf sugar and mixed for another 5, then adding the flour alittle at a time mixng more - good thing i had the kitchen aid mixer - LOL This Is one of my favorite cookie recipes - very easy too! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very good taste - very sandy texture. Will not cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
wow......thats all i can say. i really didnt know that the longer you beat shortbread the more tender tey come out...so i tried it.....beating the butter alone for 5 mins then adding 1/2 cup of flour at a time and beating 2 mins in between additions finally adding the sugar and beating 10 mins more. they are by FAR the most tender, beautiful shortbread's I've ever made and ive made a LOT of them always wondering why i couldnt get that same consistency! Now I know! I tried piping them....umm, unless you're she-woman dont try...the dough is thick and it took all my strength to do one tray.....i rolled the rest lol this is DEFINITELY my new shortbread recipe.....thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I'd add maybe just a little more sugar or just a little bit of vanilla. But this is maybe my fav. shortbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I piped them into little rosettes - they're so cute. Really delicate, so next time I'll make them smaller (one bite). I also used unsalted butter and wish I had added a bit of salt to the batter. Overall, fun to make and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blancdeblanc
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These are some of the easiest and best tasting shortbread! I did as some suggested and whipped the butter on it's own first, then added the sugar and whipped that, and then added the flour 1/2 a cup at a time, and whipped after each addition. Then whipped the final mix for about 5 more minutes. I baked them at 325 for about 10 minutes and they came out so amazing I'm wishing I had made a double batch. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States