Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I just tried the recipe and love it. I used my kitchen aid mixer for about 5 minutes on medium speed. My husband loves them too.Diane 1971
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made this and it was incredible! Totally melt in your mouth! I used half butter half margarine and a little extra icing sugar. Thanks William Anatooskin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I followed one of the reviewers mixing times - whip butter 5 min, add sugar and whip another 5 min, add flour then whip for 10min. Result is most delicious, this is my new favourite shortbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Despite what some reviewers have said, you can, in fact, overwhip these. I followed one reviewer who said to whip for 5 minutes after each ingredient and those cookies practically turned to liquid when they baked. I've never seen a cookie do what that batch did. I do, however, beat the butter for a solid 5 minutes alone, then add the remaining dry ingredients slowly. Beating time ends up a total of 10 minutes, as the original recipe states. These cookies melt in your mouth, and they are VERY DELICATE, but they taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Very simple yet tasty recipe! I did however, take the advice of the comments and added 1/4 cup more flour to ensure they stayed nice and puffy like in the picture, as well as added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I also added my flour/sugar in 3 parts after first whipping my butter. I topped with Toblerone triangles instead of cherries and they came out beautifully! Will definitely be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceejay Austin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Huge huge hit every time I make these as they literally melt in your mouth :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I had to change it up as my oookies fell flat too much butter for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Terrible recipe. I have wasted a lot of time and ingredients and a day trying to get these cookies to hold together as they came off the pan. I even tried cooling the loaded trays in the fridge for an hour before baking. I certainly would never serve these to guests or give in cookie boxes for the holidays ( my plan ). I have been baking for 60 years and have made Shortbread all my life (I'm Scots) but I have never used a recipe that was such a failure. They could, I guess, be crumbled over ice cream - no crumbling required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
These turn out Awesome, Hubby, Teenagers 16 & 19 loved them . Some I did plain , some I added a smartie in the middle. Next time Im adding Almond extract for something different. I followed directions exactly whipped for 10 mins. no problems. Making now for the 3rd time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Hassell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
These are just like mom use to make. I followed the tips of the others, adding a 1/2 tsp of vanilla, whipping the butter 5 mins, adding the sugar and whipping another 5 mins, then adding the flour a 1/2 cup at a time and whipping 2 mins inbetween followed by 10 mins. I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour and they puffed up just like the picture. Instead of cherries, in the last minute of whipping I added about 1/2 cup of Christmas coloured sprinkles to keep with the theme of my Christmas baking. Adds a nice texture. I piped them into little piles and called them 'snowman poop'! Finally, I baked on parchment paper on convection at 325F for 12 mins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowPepps

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States