Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by MrsValentine
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This recipe is super easy and definitely melt in your mouth as the description says! I did take the advice of kathleen in the preparation, mixing after each addition and baked at 300 F for 16 minutes. I brought them to a family Christmas party and everyone loved them. My brother-in-law told me it was the best texture in a shortbread he's ever had. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Yum!! I dipped these in chocolate instead of the cherries and they were so good! I think they were the best in the office cookie exchange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent recipe - simple, quick, and melt-in-your-mouth delicious! Did add some vanilla extract. Made them for the holidays and gave them to friends and family. Great as is but also great when drizzled with chocolate, have added pecans, pistachios, cranberries, etc., to a batch, rolled them in confectioner's sugar - turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I'm a fan. These were delicate and delicious. No problems with the cooking--am enjoying every bite. I found them a little delicate for a cookie tray, but that said, I wouldn't hesitate to share them with friends--just be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These are super easy to make- I used my stand mixer. I did not use any cherries but I put sprinkles on them. They are ok cookies, but nothing spectacular. Very interesting texture though; light and airy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Not so great straight from the oven, but the next day they are TO DIE FOR GOOD! I used a star tip on my pastry bag to make them extra special. Taste just like grandmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlyone123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is a really rich and awesome cookie. The flavour is just like shortbread, but the texture is not - it is so much lighter. I made the cookies as written and rolled them into balls with oiled hands and baked (no cherries). Once they had cooled I half dipped them in chcolate. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
OMG - these are delicious! I made two batches. I did not have cherries on hand - so I made a little indent and used smuckers low sugar strawberry jelly. On the second batch i just added about 1/4 more confectioner sugar. As the other review said - mix longer. First cream the butter for 5mins then I added the conf sugar and mixed for another 5, then adding the flour alittle at a time mixng more - good thing i had the kitchen aid mixer - LOL This Is one of my favorite cookie recipes - very easy too! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very good taste - very sandy texture. Will not cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
wow......thats all i can say. i really didnt know that the longer you beat shortbread the more tender tey come out...so i tried it.....beating the butter alone for 5 mins then adding 1/2 cup of flour at a time and beating 2 mins in between additions finally adding the sugar and beating 10 mins more. they are by FAR the most tender, beautiful shortbread's I've ever made and ive made a LOT of them always wondering why i couldnt get that same consistency! Now I know! I tried piping them....umm, unless you're she-woman dont try...the dough is thick and it took all my strength to do one tray.....i rolled the rest lol this is DEFINITELY my new shortbread recipe.....thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Mersereau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 131-140 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States