Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Great recipe. I agree with the previous comments for mixing time. I shape the dough into a rectangular brick shape about 2 inches wide and 1 inch high, wrap in wax paper, chill for about 1 hour and then slice it into 1/2 inch rectangular pieces and bake on parchment paper - turn out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I just finished making these cookies and they are great! They are exactly how my great-grandma made her shortbread cookies. I never got the recipe before she passed away and I think this is probably the same. The only change I made was to cook them for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIEG3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is the recipe I've always used! To change it up sometimes I dip them in melted semi-sweet chocolate or instead of cherries a chunk of toblerone chocolate bar is a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe was great! I used these to make lemon cookies, by adding the juice of one lemon at the beginning of the mixing process and they turned out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These cookies are perfect! I found the dough was so soft and squishy that I put it in a icing piper and piped out some very fancey cookies. They lasted about 5 min. in my house. Love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiltcochran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I have never had a cookie like this - they don't just melt in your mouth -they dissolve. Good flavor but way too delicate. Break apart too easily and nothing but crumbs on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Melt in your mouth! Only change was I added some corn starch as another reviewer suggested. Definitely adding this yummy to the holiday cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe was pretty good - but it is REALLY delicate and melted when you touched them. And they fall apart too easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These turned out perfect... I followed the recipe closely for the butter and flour but added maybe a tbsp. more sugar. I only whipped for 5-6 min. total and they still came out fine. I was looking for a basic but easy shortbread cookie recipe and this is definitely it!! Alterations: I omitted the cherries, added "smaller than chopped" walnuts and pecans and dipped them in confectioners sugar while still warm. Yum! And they do melt in your mouth. You could also omit nuts and coating with conf. sugar at the end and instead ice with butter icing (like "melting moments") or dip half in chocolate... I will try both of these at a later date... Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used a piping bag to make rosettes, mine baked in 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States