Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
So smooth and buttery! Substituted 1/2 cup baking powder instead of 1/2 cup of flour. Also added a tablespoon of lemon juice and a dash of lemon zest for pop. With no eggs, you can eat as much dough as you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryin2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Angola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Absolutly unbelieveable, i still cant understand how so few ingredients creat such a delictable cookie! i didnt add the maraschino cherries but it still was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
For those who found them grainy, use ising sugar instead! Works great all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I followed the advice of Miriam (and her dad). I increased the flour to 2 cups with the 1 c butter. It was fabulous. I rolled the dough out and used a cookie cutter. I also baked till lightly golden. Someone even commented how they liked the fact they didn't fall apart when bitten. Our new favorite shortbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beechy, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I baked these for the family I nanny for and they loved them!I wish it was sweeter but over all they were easy and very tasty! I added a spoonful of strawberry jelly into the middle of each cookie before baking instead of the cherries...that was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
"the best" says it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made these a couple days ago and, although they do indeed melt in your mouth (as whipped shortbread should) I found they need more sugar and perhaps vanilla extract or maybe a little of the cherry juice to sweeten and add flavor. They tasted a little "floury". As one other reviewer stated, they are very fragile and crumbly.. but you need to expect that if you want WHIPPED shortbread. I also found these ones spread out a little more than I expected but I think that's more my fault than the recipe. Over all it's a good recipe and very easy to make... just maybe more sugar and a little splash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla Wicks-Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is a marvelous simple, customizable "shortbread" cookie recipe. Other reviewers mentioned it isn't "true shortbread", but it tastes close enough for me and my family! I don't have an electric mixer so I did it all by hand and fork, and it turned out great. I followed one suggestion to cream the butter by itself for a while, then I slowly added sifted sugar, then flour. My arm got tired near the end, but it was fine! I hate maraschinos so I ended up topping my cookies with all sorts of sprinkles. My favorite topping was jam-- I spooned a bit into little heart-shaped indentations-- and then green sprinkles over top, and they made attractive christmas shortbread cookies. Yum! I went back and made another batch the very next day. I'm definitely saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These taste wonderful, but are horribly crumbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EILEEN
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These cookies were definetaly melt in your mouth...the taste was very yummy..my husband loved them!!Had no problem scooping them off my cookie sheet but once they were bitten into..quite crumbly...Although i haven't had shortbread cookies alot before so mabye thats normal..Easy to make and i added a teaspoon of almond extract on my second batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States