Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I did not like the texture and they had no taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
fell apart instantly after baking...too bad cause we liked them with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Delicious!!!!! I read some of the other reviews. Some say add more flour, some say use less. I think this recipe is too be followed exactly as is. Hint: If you like perfectly white cookies, lay brown paper on cookie sheet before you dough on. This is an tip that was given to me from an aunt years ago who had the BEST and WHITEST shortbread I have ever seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I too had high hopes for this recipe but I was disappointed with the results. I truly dislike when someone bashes a recipe. I try to find the good in a recipe and the good thing was, these did taste good. I, like others, did find these to be overly delicate and they did disintegrate in your mouth into a sandy, albeit tasty, mouthful. I did beat the ingredients with my Sunbeam Mixer for the specified amount of time and the dough (more the consistancy of a batter) was very well whipped. I formed the cookies using a pastry bag and that worked well. I baked these on parchment paper using air-bake cookie sheets, until golden brown around the edges. Extremely fragile while warm. Even when cooled to room temperature they remained very fragile. I did find that refrigerating them did help them to hold together better while holding and eating them. I think I will use a more traditional shortbread recipe as shortbread is one of my husband"s favorites. Sorry I couldn't give this a higher rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walworth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I've never made shortbread before, whipped or otherwise, but I always loved my mom's. This is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
was a real nightmare made it to T and they came out flat and bland use cherrys nand sprinkles for topping frist batch was bad and flat so added a pinch of slat since butter was unsalted and a teaspoon of vanila and tasted better but still flat found another one thats great keeps form and woths with both butter and margrine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
When I lost my grandma's recipe, I found this one, which was very close to hers. I made them a few months ago & they came out beautifully. Like my grandma's, I piped mine with a piping bag & star tip. I didn't make them very big, just the right size to to pop in your mouth & let it melt away. So starting my Christmas baking this weekend, I came back to this recipe. I read the reviews about decreasing the amount of flour. They seemed to whip up just like my gram's. I piped them out & baked them. They spread out like pancakes when cooked & didn't taste good at all. So I tried the recipe according to directions. As I was mixing, the mixture was not coming together, so I added a bit more butter, not quite 1/4c. They seemed to whip up great. My husband piped them out, a little bigger than what I do. I baked them & they spread out a bit. When cooled, I tasted & they did not taste good at all. I don't know what went wrong but I've never had this much trouble making cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Easy and wonderful, don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Made these today and followed the advice of the pastry chef and increased flour to 2 cups (to create a ratio of 2 to 1 of flour to butter). Also used unsalted butter and a teaspoon of almond extract and beat it prior to adding dry ingredients for about 2-3 minutes. Added 1/8 teaspoon of salt when adding flour and sugar. Chilled the dough for a bit, rolled it into balls and made thumb print cookies, which I filled with homemade rhubarb-cranberry jam. Baked at 350 for 16 minutes. Turned out perfect. Will make these again for sure! Thanks to other commentators for their tips, well worth reading before starting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I used a cup of flour instead of the full one and half, by a mistake.. And they turned out PERFECT. Talk about melt in your mouth. I'm not a huge fan of cherries so I used chocolate chips. You really need to double, maybe triple this recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States