Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I realy love the taste of these cookies. there nice and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
These were pretty good. However, my dad is a pastry chef and said that the amount of butter in them is way too much. The taste of butter was a little too pronounced. He said that as a general rule for shortbread, the amount of flour always has to be at least double to the amount of butter. Also, he said that the secret to get them to stay in one piece and not fall apart, is in the baking time. Make sure you bake them at least until the are a rich golden instead of white. My first batch was just golden on the bottom, and I was still able to manipulate well, but fell apart when biting into them, and they were a little chewy, or doughy in the mouth. My second batch, I let them get a little more color on them, and there texture was much better! Here you go, that is the secret (I think)of why many people had crumbly falling apart cookies! All credit goes to dad :) Perfect dough for piping beautiful shapes. Pretty good when adding a bit of almond extract too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Taste is good, however, that is if you can get the cookie to your mouth before it breaks into sizes perfect for feeding ants. These crumble regardless of chilling dough, mixing in 3 parts, chilling on/off cookie sheet. My hubby things they taste like whipped flour. Sorry, but these just arent for us. I wanted to do cookies that my young daughters could decorate and this was a wasted day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
WOW!!! Easy, beautiful and delicious. I omitted the cherries because I didn't have any, but if i made for others I might put them or a single chocolate chip. PERFECT. SIMPLE COOKIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denimchocolate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
These cookies were amazing! my two year old loved them as well as my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
They really do melt in your mouth. So light and perfect as a "tea" cookie. I suspect they wouldn't hold up for many days, but we ate them all the first day, so short-keeping is only a theory. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Mmmm! Instead of cherries, I placed a 1/2 teaspoon of Mamool (middle-eastern date cookie) filling in the center of these and then dusted them with powdered sugar. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I've never given a recipe a bad rating before and feel badly but ... while these tasted wonderful and they looked beautiful, they crumbled when you tried to pick them up. I told my children to pick them up like they were picking up broken glass then put the whole thing in your mouth at once!!! They completely dissolve in your mouth...no need to chew! Sorry to have to give a bad review but there's definately something missing in this recipe as I followed it to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Kulp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I have to agree with the other reviewers about the "sandy" texture of these cookies. They taste pretty good, but their delicate texture makes them very difficult to eat. They almost dissolve in your mouth -- not a texture for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I have made several batches of these cookies. While they are awesome in taste, I have yet to mastered the technique to prevent them from breaking up while being moved from the cookie sheet onto the cooling rack. They crumble at the touch of the spatula. I am sure it is due to my lack of baking experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States