Whipped Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Simple but Very Delicious! I use Evaporated Partly Skim-Milk,Butter and Garlic Powder. It's a Family Favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cap-Pele, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Mmmm, just like Mom used to make! I used 5 Tbs of butter, and skim milk, because that's all I had. After straining the water out, I put the taters in the hot pot back on the burner, on low, and let the excess water steam away for a minute. Emeril suggests this for avoiding goopy or runny taters. I used a hand electric mixer right in the pot, just like Mom. (Make sure your nonstick can handle it--mine can, Cooks Essentials is tough.) Use a low speed to avoid overbeating. Add milk gradually until you get the consistency you want. I like mine thicker, with a few little pieces to letcha know they're REAL. If you like a more perfectly whipped version, a stand mixer would work better. Just keep an eye on it so you stop it at the right time. Do NOT substitute a food processor--wrong tool for the job. You'll get a glutinous glob. If you use a stand mixer, preheat the bowl in hot water to keep your taters hot. Good idea to warm up your serving bowl, too, if you're using one. In addition to the add-ins other reviewers have mentioned, try whipping in sour cream, or fold in grated cheese, crumbled crisp bacon, sprinkle chives on it, or anything you top taters with. I like just fresh ground salt, pepper, and butter. Good quality taters have a wonderful taste without needing to be hidden behind strong flavors. And, don't let highly seasoned spuds upstage your main dish. Thanks, Sandra, for the recipe/prep tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kentuckyliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is a good basic mashed potatoe recipe. I also had to add quite a bit more milk. Also, they are lain so I added salt, pepper and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Good simple mashed potatoes. We made these for Thanksgiving to have a somewhat healthier version for my dad who has just gone on a heart healthy diet, so we used a little less margerine. They were a little bland, but that was what we wanted in order to keep them somewhat healthy -- the tasty stuff is usually the "bad" stuff. They had great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These potatoes were delicious and easy to make. I did have to use a lot more milk then called for because they were pretty dry. They are also very simple, so I added a lot of garlic. That made them very delicious. I used them for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Yes! This is the way I do my potatoes, and everyone is crazy about them! I highly recommend trying this...you'll never make them a different way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Yes, the use of the electric mixer is a great tip, but the recipe in and of itself is a little more bland than I prefer. Not a bad start, but I used heavy cream instead of milk (adding a little at a time to reach the desired consistency), more butter, and my "secret" mashed potato ingredient -- just a tiny pinch of nutmeg, as well as salt and pepper. Garlic, black olive, onion, cooked carrot or spinach, wasabi powder, or shredded cheese, are nice variations on the mashed potato recipe, too. This is a versatile base. Use your imagination and add what you like. Also, sometimes I scrub the potatoes well and leave the skins on. It makes for a less-smooth texture but adds nutrients. Adding a little dry milk powder will also enrich your mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Quick, Simple and fantastic to eat! My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
great recipe. I modify mine alittle by adding salt and pepper to taste and some garlic powder, and alittle more butter. The whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
They were a little dry, but they still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States