Whipped Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I have been making potatoes like this for a long time. I add evaporated milk, butter and add white pepper. I use the mixer - absolutly fluffy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I always use this method with additional creams, butter and/or cheese. But...have any of you ever used a "potato ricer?" Try it...yummy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
it is best to heat the liquid (milk/cream) and add to potatoes before mixing. do not add butter at this time. wait until you have your potatos mashed and add your butter last. you don't want the butter absorbing into the potatoes prior to mixing--it will change texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is the method I have always used and it makes amazing mashed potatoes! Make sure not to "overwhip" with the mixer as they can become a bit gummy. I add salt and other seasonings to taste. I have also used chicken broth and reduced fat butters to make a lighter version...always very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I drain the potatoes mash just a little then put on low and add Milk, butter and I always add a spoonful of sour cream and about a spoonful of cream cheese let warm some then finish mashing. Season to taste. they always come out excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Using an electric mixer does make creamier mashed potatoes. For more flavor try adding salt, pepper and garlic powder before boiling the potatoes. The seasonings cook into the potatoes before mashing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
this is the only way - is to whip, however I also add cream cheese and sour cream to taste. This also re-heats well in the oven so this dish can be made a day ahead. Larry Jan21, 2011
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I have always used an electric mixer to make mashed potatoes as well but instead of milk I use sour cream or cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
this is basicly how i make my potatoes. i mash them with a potato masher then the mixer. turns out great. i add more butter, use evaporated milk, and salt and pepper. i will try heating the milk next time. i heated the milk. works great. thanks for this tip! i have been making mashed potatoes since i was 10 years old. i appreciate all the helpful tips you all put on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen73076

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
The texture of the potatoes was very smooth...I ended up adding some extra seasonings, otherwise I think these potatoes would have been rather plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States