Whipped Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
A good basic mashed potato recipe. I liked them whipped as a change for us. I used salted real butter and just added the milk to the right consistency. After I tried them I added salt, pepper and garlic and that seemed to give them what they were needing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Adding a teaspoon of baking powder while whipping will make them light and airy. Don't overdo the mixer after addition as you can knock the air back out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
It was easy to make and it was so good. My daughter and I, we made some for the family get-together... and we added a little more extra butter. It was so good. That was one of the dish that went first, even though it was only mash potatoes. Thanks for submitting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eugenescott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Pretty Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Great starting place if you've NEVER made mashed potatoes. But please, add some seasonings! At the very least some S&P and Garlic Powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Mashed potatoes are classic comfort food and while most every cook has their own "take" or "secret" to making them extra special there's no disputing the basic formula which is what this recipe gives you: potatoes, butter, and milk in it's own proportions. I generally use more butter and more warm milk. I also add in some salt and pepper along with a bit of garlic powder. I always use an electric mixer to "mash" my potatoes whether its my kitchen aid stand mixer for large batches or my hand held for small batches. The potatoes come out perfectly "whipped" everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
for another level of flavor, when boiling your potatoes, use chicken broth instead of water....delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is always how I make mashed potatoes and I never have leftovers. Another add-in that I sometimes use is a packet of dry Ranch dressing mix. I also like to leave the skins on the potatoes for a little extra flavor and all the good vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Meissner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is the way my mom taught me to mash potatoes pver 40 years ago. However, it was butter to taste, add milk slowly to the consistency you want, plus some salt. Lately, to make them more 'diet' friendly, I'll use fat free sour cream instead of the butter and skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I make my mashed potatoes like my mom always did. After cooking till soft, drain and save a cup of liquid. Mash with masher, add butter and seasonings and whip with electric mixer. Alternately add a 5 oz can evaporated milk along with some of the saved cooking liquid (about 1/2 cup or more) till desired consistency. Adding the cooking liquid and the room temp evap milk keeps the potatoes hot for serving and they turn out very creamy. Always a hit with family and guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States