Whipped Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I was so excited to try this recipe last night. I had the garlic spread at a Lebanese restaurant over a year ago. How disappointing to find it so salty...and I only used a third of the salt! The proportions on this recipe are very wrong. I looked online for a Lebanese recipe and will try that in comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I make this in the blender. Peel the garlic (I use 1 head), add to blender. Pour in 1/2 of the lemon juice. Nearly liquify the garlic. Slowly add 1/2 the oil (I use 1/2 cup since I think I make a double batch). Add the rest of the lemon. Blend for a minute or so. Then add the rest of the oil slowly. Now, I do have a twist on this since I like to consume massive quantities and it is uber high in calories. I add plain greek yogurt (about 1 cup). Thickens it up and makes it last longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Crabtree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Came out SO bitter and was much too intense for anyone to consume by itself. Very disappointed. Will try again with roasted garlic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I had this at a restaurant last night and was instantly in love. I was happy to find this recipe on line. But completely disappointed with the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Try doing 2/3 roasted garlic, 1/3 raw garlic. The combination of the roasted and raw enhances both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I can hardly begin to describe this. The salt was overwhelming and the garlic nearly burned a layer of skin off my mouth - and I do love garlic! There certainly seems to be something wrong with these proportions. We looked at other recipes and noticed the addition of lemon juice and roasting the garlic to decrease the harshness. I've since researched several other recipes that look more promising. Hope to find a good recipe for this yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Am Lebanese and was really surprised when I saw that recipe posted here... the secret ingredient in this recipe is to add a little bit of lemon juice and the end.. the garlic will turn to white color.. it's yummmmmmmmmi with grilled chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I agree with another reviewer, roasting the garlic makes it mellow. I could not imagine eating this raw. This is way too much salt and way too much oil. Cut back the salt to taste or perhaps a teaspoon, drizzle the oil over the cloves just enough so that the blender does not stall. I also use the small baby food blender cups, and make this in batches so the salt and oil is very limited; sometimes I add a tablespoon of lemon juice to the mix rather than more oil. I have been roasting garlic for about 10 years now and love it. I use it on baked potatoes, hot pasta, mixed with a little butter to make garlic toast or brushed on brushetta before adding the topping. It is wonderful on sandwiches in place of butter or mayo. I have been known to add 1/2 a teaspoon of red chili flakes before pureeing the cloves. Please, try roasting it first, you will really like it and it's versatility!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was aweful! I wasted 9 heads of perfectly roasted garlic! It was SO salty I think I felt my blood pressure rise! I only put in half the amount of salt. Did I miss something? If you roast it, do you put no salt in? I think I might try this again but with no salt. Then again, I think I have better things to do with that much garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
OH wow, this little recipe is so up my alley!! My grandmother used to make this for me all the time when I was little, except she used butter instead of the evoo. I skipped the salt entirely and loved it just the same. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States