Whipped Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I LOVE this frosting! At first it seemed a peculiar recipe, but it comes out really creamy and it tastes great - no overly sweet icing sugar flavor here! I think its' the perfect balance of heavy and light. In response to the previous review, be sure to add the flour slowly with a sprinkling motion and whisk constantly. I have added cocoa powder to this recipe and it makes a delightful chocolate frosting as well! (I didn't note how much.. just sprinkle it in to taste) 5 stars well deserved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Read

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I used corn oil (cut in half the amount of shortening from the recipe) , low-fat milk,and butter, instead of shortening, whole milk, and margarine. The recipe still turn out well. I also used a hand mixer to mix the ingredients together. It ended up looking exactly like whipped frosting, the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
My neighbor gave me a recipe like this one many years ago, only hers had 3 T flour and 1 cup solid shortening, no butter. This is one of the best frostings I have ever made. It is very creamy, looks like whipped cream and taste great too. It does take a little time to prepare, since it has to be cooked and cooled, but well worth the extra time. This cake will need to be stored in a cool place since the frosting contains milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Flavor is wonderful.. Had no problem with the flour/Milk mixture. However, I'm wondering about the "White Sugar." I used granulated and result is grany. I'm wondering if the recipe means "powdered sugar"????? June 2010. Revised: I have learned extra fine, or Baker's Sugar works well. I use Cook's South Seas Vanilla... Oh, Yum! Use butter instead of shortening for better flavor too. At times I also add a bit of almond and brandy flavor to that... Not enough to be obvious.. only to enhance. Needs a lot of beating to get the sugar to blend in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladypeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I love this frosting on rich chocolate cake. I've been making this recipe for years with just a few changes. My recipe calls for 5T. flour. This makes a much thicker base for the icing. Also, I use butter, NOT margarine. I think the real trick is to beat the sugar/butter/ shortening mix for TEN minutes. Start your mixer, then go look at allrecipes.com for a while. Add the milk/flour mixture, then beat it another TEN minutes. You'll find with a thicker base and a longer beating time, you'll have a wonderful creamy icing. One other thing...use Crisco. The taste and texture depend on it. I've tried store brands and they just don't do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I LOVE this frosting. I did make a change though. Once started I realized I didn't have any shortening so I used butter instead. It turned out just fabulous, I will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Burson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Made this tonight. Turned out really good. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This is excellent! Getting the flour/milk consistency right was a little frustrating, and the frosting doesn't harden so it isn't great for stackable cookies; however, it is by far the best tasting, lightest frosting I have ever made and I'm sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This icing is...weird. Not bad, but weird. The flour/milk paste makes it different than any icing I've ever made, but then, I'm not a person who makes a lot of icing. I'm actually a person who tends to have icing recipes fail horribly, so this one scores big points for being quite easy to make. And, while it was different than any icing I'd ever made, it was perfectly suited to the chiffon cake I made it for, so this is likely to be my go-to recipe every time there's a chiffon cake in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
good recipe but i add butter flavoring to make it even more delicious. Rave reviews from tasters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States