Whipped Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made this recipe because I didn't have powdered sugar. It was supposed to go on top of petite cream puffs (pate a choux) that were filled with vanilla pastry cream. It ended up inside of the cream puffs because it was so delicious!! I added a rounded tablespoon of chocolate and almost a tablespoon of granulated sugar to make the most fabulous chocolate filling I've ever had! At first I was thinking I had made a bad choice in this recipe when I was whipping the butter and shortening and then adding the granulated sugar since the sugar remained grainy. But, as soon as I added the vanilla (closer to 2 t.) the frosting transformed into a smoother, shinier mixture. When I added the thickened flour / milk mixture, magic happened and it whipped into a perfect mousse-like cream filling. My family could not stop eating the cream puffs!!! It is not overly sweet, which makes it perfect for a thick, sturdy filling or frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This type of frosting recipe is "fussy" by nature--I would suggest the first time you make it, use the best quality (and exact) ingredients called for, follow the directions, and ideally have the right kitchen conditions (cool and dry). If it doesn't seem like it's smoothing out when you're beating it, keep going! Sometimes it takes 15 min. or more. It's also called "ermine" frosting--it's that luxurious and smooth. Be prepared for it to taste less sweet than uncooked frostings. It's best made the day you will serve it, and it changes texture in the refrigerator (if you bring the cake to room temp. before serving, it will be much tastier). The other tips I would give are to make sure the flour paste is completely cool before you beat it in, and make sure your butter is soft, but not greasy. I will not make any other kind of frosting anymore--friends and family won't let me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I gave this two stars for the texture and look. However, I don't care for the taste of this frosting. I was really disappointed considering how many other great reviews there were. I even added extra vanilla and powdered sugar to try and improve the taste. Didnt help. It was similar to that overwhelming oily frosting you get from grocery store bakeries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Whipped, absolutely! It is perhaps the fluffiest frosting I have ever made. But its completely tasteless, which is a big disappointment. I tried to doctor it up with some cream cheese, but it ruined the consistency because I added it too late. I have some more tweaking to do before I can re-rate it... but really, I don't understand all the raves about this recipe. Its a very basic, store-bought type of frosting, and I can't imagine why anyone wants to put such a tasteless frosting on their cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great flavor but a little difficult to make the "paste". I doubled this recipe to ice a 1/4 sheet cake and it is the perfect amount. However, when I made the flour/milk mixture, it never got to the 'paste'. It was a little more liquidy than I wanted but I poured it in the sugar/Crisco mixture and changed the paddle on my stand mixer to the whisk and beat until fluffy. Overall, I'm impressed with this recipe and will play with the flour/milk mixture again until I get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherF

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have been making this same recipe for a number of years but with 2 tablespoons flour and 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup Crisco. I found myself surprised about those who complained about the gritty texture. My husband will actually complain if he can't taste the sugar granuals..that is his favorite part about the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
great base frosting! I used butter instead of lard and added some pineapple juice towards the end of the beating cycle since I was frosting a pineapple cake. I will add that I think you really have to mix it at least four minutes for it not to be grainy with regular sugar. I actually whipped it on 10 with my kitchen aid stand mixer for at least 10 minutes and ended up with light airy perfect frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalmommy
Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I was also skeptical at first about the flour part of the recipe, but it is a light and fabulous tasting frosting. I did use granulated white sugar, so with that I just increased the mixing time to 10-12 minutes and it completely removed the grainy texture. Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
The best whipped frosting I've ever had or made! Can't wait to frost my cupcakes tomorrow and hear what everyone thinks at my sons birthday party in 2 days. I took someones advice and used bakers sugar because white sugar comes out a little griddy to me. I also used all butter instead of margarine and shortening. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I don't know what happened. I followed all the directions. I re-read everything to make sure I didn't miss a step. But I just dumped it all down the sink. It was greasy and gritty. Not a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States