Whipped Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I used corn oil (cut in half the amount of shortening from the recipe) , low-fat milk,and butter, instead of shortening, whole milk, and margarine. The recipe still turn out well. I also used a hand mixer to mix the ingredients together. It ended up looking exactly like whipped frosting, the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Do NOT walk away from your paste! I did for just a second, and I got lumps! Thankfully I was able to *whisk* them into submission! I also noticed a grainy texture when I was whipping the sugar with the shortening and margarine, but it seemed to mellow out to oblivion once I added the paste and vanilla. I did add just a pinch of salt, because the flavor was a little flat. Very good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I LOVE this frosting! At first it seemed a peculiar recipe, but it comes out really creamy and it tastes great - no overly sweet icing sugar flavor here! I think its' the perfect balance of heavy and light. In response to the previous review, be sure to add the flour slowly with a sprinkling motion and whisk constantly. I have added cocoa powder to this recipe and it makes a delightful chocolate frosting as well! (I didn't note how much.. just sprinkle it in to taste) 5 stars well deserved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Read

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Fantastic! I made this vegan w/soy milk and olive spread. Yes, it's a tough frosting to make and looks gross but the key is lots of stirring and add the flour gradually through a sieve. It's also great w/cocoa powder added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
good recipe but i add butter flavoring to make it even more delicious. Rave reviews from tasters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This is excellent! Getting the flour/milk consistency right was a little frustrating, and the frosting doesn't harden so it isn't great for stackable cookies; however, it is by far the best tasting, lightest frosting I have ever made and I'm sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I loved this frosting, I tried it this weekend on a mickey mouse cake I did for my grandson and I loved it my whole family loved it. I will keep on using this frosting on all my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Flavor is wonderful.. Had no problem with the flour/Milk mixture. However, I'm wondering about the "White Sugar." I used granulated and result is grany. I'm wondering if the recipe means "powdered sugar"????? June 2010. Revised: I have learned extra fine, or Baker's Sugar works well. I use Cook's South Seas Vanilla... Oh, Yum! Use butter instead of shortening for better flavor too. At times I also add a bit of almond and brandy flavor to that... Not enough to be obvious.. only to enhance. Needs a lot of beating to get the sugar to blend in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladypeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Worked great on angel food cake. This one is a keeper and an excellent alternative to light fluffy creamy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I LOVE this frosting. I did make a change though. Once started I realized I didn't have any shortening so I used butter instead. It turned out just fabulous, I will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Burson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States