Whipped Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Wow... I have to say I was really worried halfway through this recipe. As I was whipping the butter and sugar, it was still very grainy. But once I beat in the paste- voila! It became very creamy. The frosting tastes great and is definitely not cloying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent! I used this on a yellow cake and added cut fresh strawberries! Will def make again! The only downside was it did not make enough frosting. I made two loaf pans of cake and cut each in half so it was not quite enough for that. Had to just put icing in the middle and on top, none left for sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Love it. Has a nice creamy whip cream flavor. I tried to follow the person who did the oil. because I dont usually have shortening. I think I messed up using 1/4 cup too much but it still came out ok. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this to go with an ice cream cake. It was very similar to the whipped frosting you would get from a WalMart cake with the whipped frosting. It did have a greasy feel to it but the light and not too sweet taste out weigh it. I will try to make this again with all butter instead of the shortening/margarine. In response to the reviewers that had problems with the flour and milk, I had no problems. You have to stay with your saucepan and whisk constantly adding flour a little at a time. Worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carl Junction, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jasper, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I love this frosting on rich chocolate cake. I've been making this recipe for years with just a few changes. My recipe calls for 5T. flour. This makes a much thicker base for the icing. Also, I use butter, NOT margarine. I think the real trick is to beat the sugar/butter/ shortening mix for TEN minutes. Start your mixer, then go look at allrecipes.com for a while. Add the milk/flour mixture, then beat it another TEN minutes. You'll find with a thicker base and a longer beating time, you'll have a wonderful creamy icing. One other thing...use Crisco. The taste and texture depend on it. I've tried store brands and they just don't do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Made this tonight. Turned out really good. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This frosting has wonderful texture, however be sure to put it on a VERY COOL cake or it will melt before your eyes. Although it's a little high maintenance because of the flower whisking, I am willing to try this frosting again. WARNING: I used a cup of butter instead because it was on hand and it turned out too buttery! Stick with the 1/2 cup of shortening. I only recommend a little more vanilla to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Do NOT walk away from your paste! I did for just a second, and I got lumps! Thankfully I was able to *whisk* them into submission! I also noticed a grainy texture when I was whipping the sugar with the shortening and margarine, but it seemed to mellow out to oblivion once I added the paste and vanilla. I did add just a pinch of salt, because the flavor was a little flat. Very good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
no problems with the flour but grainy and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I LOVE this frosting. I did make a change though. Once started I realized I didn't have any shortening so I used butter instead. It turned out just fabulous, I will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Burson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States