Whipped Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
My neighbor gave me a recipe like this one many years ago, only hers had 3 T flour and 1 cup solid shortening, no butter. This is one of the best frostings I have ever made. It is very creamy, looks like whipped cream and taste great too. It does take a little time to prepare, since it has to be cooked and cooled, but well worth the extra time. This cake will need to be stored in a cool place since the frosting contains milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Difficult to make. Watch the milk/flour recipe carefully or it will become lumpy. Use a spoon to mix this mixture-- a whisk won't do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I LOVE this frosting! At first it seemed a peculiar recipe, but it comes out really creamy and it tastes great - no overly sweet icing sugar flavor here! I think its' the perfect balance of heavy and light. In response to the previous review, be sure to add the flour slowly with a sprinkling motion and whisk constantly. I have added cocoa powder to this recipe and it makes a delightful chocolate frosting as well! (I didn't note how much.. just sprinkle it in to taste) 5 stars well deserved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Read

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Fantastic! I made this vegan w/soy milk and olive spread. Yes, it's a tough frosting to make and looks gross but the key is lots of stirring and add the flour gradually through a sieve. It's also great w/cocoa powder added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
good recipe but i add butter flavoring to make it even more delicious. Rave reviews from tasters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This is excellent! Getting the flour/milk consistency right was a little frustrating, and the frosting doesn't harden so it isn't great for stackable cookies; however, it is by far the best tasting, lightest frosting I have ever made and I'm sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This icing is...weird. Not bad, but weird. The flour/milk paste makes it different than any icing I've ever made, but then, I'm not a person who makes a lot of icing. I'm actually a person who tends to have icing recipes fail horribly, so this one scores big points for being quite easy to make. And, while it was different than any icing I'd ever made, it was perfectly suited to the chiffon cake I made it for, so this is likely to be my go-to recipe every time there's a chiffon cake in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I used corn oil (cut in half the amount of shortening from the recipe) , low-fat milk,and butter, instead of shortening, whole milk, and margarine. The recipe still turn out well. I also used a hand mixer to mix the ingredients together. It ended up looking exactly like whipped frosting, the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I loved this frosting, I tried it this weekend on a mickey mouse cake I did for my grandson and I loved it my whole family loved it. I will keep on using this frosting on all my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I tried this frosting along with the Simple Sugar Cookie recipe that is also on this website and thought that it was a good recipe. It was a little bit to creamy for my taste and would probably cut back on the shortning. but overall i like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States