Whipped Cream Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This was luscious. I doubled it (except the gelatin; I left that the same) and used it to layer and top a yellow cake with sliced strawberries. The gelatin kept the cream from going weepy, and was stiff enough for a nice thick layer of strawberries and cream in the middle of my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. Larez
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I have this same recipe but I use 1tbsp white sugar, its not sweet but only to give some taste to your already sweet cake or pie. You may want to add more sugar if you want it sweetened.. I admit its a tricky recipe. Before you start :You need to cool the bowl that you are going to use for the whip cream and the beaters for at least 15mins before using them. (I usually put mine in the freezer). In another small bowl;Sprinkle gelatin over water, mix and let it soften for 5 mins.( I microwave mine for almost 1 and half maybe 2 minutes total and I stir it every 30 to 60 seconds)..but not too hot as to a hot bubbly boiling because it will harden when it cools..only till it the liquid looks clear. let it stand room temperature and not too warm when you add it to the heavy cream.. use immediately. I have used it for shell borders, stars and basket weave, for decorations on cakes. It doesn't fall apart like the average whipped cream.. its not a smooth frosting but I think it depends on the long you cook the gel. I hope this helps. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Larez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This recipe is very good and correct. If you, as other reviewers, can not make this, try something simpler first, like boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The quantities worked very well for me. I didn't follow the instructions completely as written - I bloomined the gelatin in a small bowl, then stuck it in the microwave for about 8 seconds (it had set, so I just needed it to liquify). Then I beat it in to the whipped cream. Since this was a filling for a cake roll, I also incorporated about 1T passion fruit puree. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Really good as is, but it doesn't make much. I prefer to do the same as other reviewers and double everything except the gelatine. This way you not only get more, but the consistency is a bit lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy2man

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellsworth, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I attempted to make this and it came out tasting great, however the instructions could use a bit more detailed info about the gelatin. I did as was directed and the gelatin turned into strings in the whipped cream mixture. it stood well though!!!!! no weeping!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I'm not very experienced with gelatin so each time I made hot it didn't workout , but when I added while mixing the others it turned out fine. Still wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This recipe did not give quite enough info on what to expect regarding the speed needed to handle the gelatin; I doubled it for a layer cake. Except for the gelatin, it turned out ok, but had to pick out the chunks of the gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Sandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States