Whipped Cream Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I'm not very experienced with gelatin so each time I made hot it didn't workout , but when I added while mixing the others it turned out fine. Still wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The quantities worked very well for me. I didn't follow the instructions completely as written - I bloomined the gelatin in a small bowl, then stuck it in the microwave for about 8 seconds (it had set, so I just needed it to liquify). Then I beat it in to the whipped cream. Since this was a filling for a cake roll, I also incorporated about 1T passion fruit puree. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I am not a beginner when it comes to baking or making frosting or icing, but apparently I have no clue how to use gelatin. I ended up picking out the gelatin chunks and frosted my cake with the whipped cream. Like others have suggested, there should be some clarification on how to do the gelatin for those of us who have never used it. The gelatin was nice and smooth and after whipping it into the cream it was just stringy and didn't blend. I'm sure it is my fault, but I can't find one recipe online that explains how to do this properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. Larez
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I have this same recipe but I use 1tbsp white sugar, its not sweet but only to give some taste your already sweet cake or pie. You may want to add more if you want it sweetened.. I admit its a tricky recipe. Before you start :You need to cool the bowl that you are going to use for the whip cream and the beaters for at least 15mins before using them. (I usually put mine in the freezer). In another small bowl;Sprinkle gelatin over water, mix and let it soften for 5 mins.( I microwave mine for almost 1 and half maybe 2 minutes total and I stir it every 30 to 60 seconds)..but not too hot as to a hot bubbly boiling because it will harden when it cools..only till it the liquid looks clear. let it stand room temperature and not warm when you add to the heavy cream.. use immediately. I have used it for shell borders, stars and basket weave, for decorations on cakes. It doesn't fall apart like the average whipped cream.. its not a smooth frosting but I think it depends on the long you cook the gel. I hope this helps. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Larez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I attempted to make this and it came out tasting great, however the instructions could use a bit more detailed info about the gelatin. I did as was directed and the gelatin turned into strings in the whipped cream mixture. it stood well though!!!!! no weeping!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This recipe definitely needs a little clarification. I had to do the gelatin twice in order to get it right! Mine still didn't look as nice as that in the photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This was luscious. I doubled it (except the gelatin; I left that the same) and used it to layer and top a yellow cake with sliced strawberries. The gelatin kept the cream from going weepy, and was stiff enough for a nice thick layer of strawberries and cream in the middle of my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This recipe is very good and correct. If you, as other reviewers, can not make this, try something simpler first, like boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This recipe did not give quite enough info on what to expect regarding the speed needed to handle the gelatin; I doubled it for a layer cake. Except for the gelatin, it turned out ok, but had to pick out the chunks of the gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Sandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I followed the instructions exactly. Icing did not turn out at all. I threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dee dee sweetie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States