Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I have to say that this is the only icing I will make from now on. I was a little skeptical because of the reviews I read, but I followed the recipe and directions to the t, and it turned out amazing. I let the flour mixture cool in the refrigerator until it was cold, and beet it in really well. I whipped it longer than I would normally because everyone said it was really grainy. Mine wasn't, and it wasn't buttery either. It was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyCraig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I make decorated cakes and have made hundreds of pounds of icing but I don't really like it. THIS I could eat the whole bowl. The key is MIX WELL. It is not greasy and when done correctly tastes like whipped cream. It is not overly sweet and not grainy providing you beat the fats and the sugar for 2 - 3 minutes before adding the flour mixture. I will never make cream cheese icing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
It tasted like butter, not whipped cream. It was to greasy. Personally, I probably wouldn't make it again. (No offense)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This has been my favorite frosting recipe since I was a child. We always call it White Frosting, because it really is not like whipped cream. I will make these suggestions...Always use margarine rather than butter. I use butter in all of my recipes expect this one. To avoid curdling you must whip the frosting for at least five minutes or it will tend to separate. Also, my recipe calls for adding 3T flour to the milk. Lastly, add a teaspoon of the vanilla to the milk/flour mixture. This is really the best white frosting recipe out there!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ODINROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This frosting is delicious on chocolate cake. I added vanilla extract for extra flavor. I also have a Kitchen Aid mixer which makes this frsoting extra light and fluffy. I agree that this frosting is better the next day. It will loose the "sugar granular" texture if you let it sit. This version is also much easier than the one that I made when I was kid. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
The only thing I liked about this recipe was the texture, besides that it was terrible. The butter and shortening make it really greasy, and the only thing you taste is butter. The end result is like eating lard on cake,yuck. Even after adding another cup of sugar to the frosting it still tasted like butter, but was then gritty. I suggest just sticking with plain whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is one of my favorite frosting recipes that I originally got from a co-worker who got it from her mother. I specifically like to use it for filling cupcakes (chocolate ones are the best!) The first time I made it was for St. Patrick's Day cupcakes, so I substituted Bailey's for the milk to make an Irish Cream-flavored frosting. It was yummy! My recipe calls for 2-3 tbsps. of flour, and also 1 tsp. of vanilla extract, although you could also use almond, coconut, lemon, whatever you prefer. Lastly, I believe that those who complained about the grainy texture of the sugar and/or the "greasiness" from the butter did not *thoroughly* cream the butter, shortening & sugar together. You have to cream it for at least 8 minutes if you're using a stand mixer, or 10 min. w/a handheld electric mixer. Also, I don't completely cool the milk slurry before adding it to the creamed butter/sugar; if it's still a little warm (not HOT, but lukewarm), it actually helps to melt the sugar a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
the best one ever its not over powering sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I've been looking for a whipped frosting forever. I tried this one and all I could taste was the butter. Too greasy. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I added only half the butter that the recipe called for and the frosting didn't taste too buttery. However, I found the flour-taste to be overpowering. The texture was good, but I was disappointed with the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States