Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
this icing was horrible! it looks and tastes like curddled milk! don't use it!!!If your looking for the worst tasting disaster ever this is the perfect recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I got this same recipe from my Aunt Marj (she called it Bakers Frosting) decades ago, and it has been my very favorite frosting recipe ever since - except I use 4T flour, and combine it with the sugar before adding the milk (from experience, whole milk works best for this) so lumps do not form. I also add 1t vanilla when beating the cooked (& cooled) part into the butter/shortening mixture. You do not want to combine the cooked mixture with the butter & shortening until you're ready to frost your cake (I learned THAT from experience too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I was very surprised after reading some not so great reviews. I followed the recipe exactly, except added a tsp of vanilla and a packet of Jell-O vanilla pudding mix. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Loved the recipe! It was exactly what I was loking for. I did not find this grainy at all as some of the other reviewers did - even right away when I made it. I did whip everything for a long time in my kitchen aid mixer. The only things I added were a little vanilla and a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I have made this frosting for years. However, I do not add the shortening. Misplaced the recipe and found this one. I do add a little vanilla. Great frosting and is best made night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is the lightest & creamiest frosting ever. If you don't like it you've probably made it incorrectly. Loved it since I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Chaos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
We liked this recipe. It isn't too sweet. Don't rely on the taste right after it is made. I immediately frosted my cake and when we ate it a few hours later the flavor had improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Just wanted to say I LOVE THIS FROSTING!!! My daughter needed to a project for 100 Th day at school,so there are a lot of children with peanut allergies. Thank-you it was amazing!!! MY QUICK TIP! Follow all the steps in the recipe and what i did was add a handful of chocolate chips to a microwave bowl put on SEC put into frosting..YUMMY YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I have to say that this is the only icing I will make from now on. I was a little skeptical because of the reviews I read, but I followed the recipe and directions to the t, and it turned out amazing. I let the flour mixture cool in the refrigerator until it was cold, and beet it in really well. I whipped it longer than I would normally because everyone said it was really grainy. Mine wasn't, and it wasn't buttery either. It was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyCraig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Great frosting! I used powered sugar instead of regular sugar. Make sure the cake is cool before you frost it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States