Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I thought it was completely perfect.. to be honest I did doubt it a little but it really proved me wrong! I mixed a little longer than normal but it still tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is the best frosting I have ever made, I have finally found a frosting I can make! I never have any luck whenever I try to make my own frosting, but this one really tasted like it came from a high quality bakery. I followed this recipie very closely with some minor changes. Instead of flour, I used corn starch which I prefer over flour. I also sub'd half of the milk with whipping cream - cream always makes a recipie taste better! I also added a full tsp of pure madagascar vanilla extract as well as a full tsp of vanilla bean paste to the milk mixture after I removed it from the heat. I also used confectioner's sugar because I noticed in my first batch that the sugar wasn't dissolving well (I even used super fine baker's suger the first time), with the second batch, the confectioner's sugar was perfect. I did go with other's advice and beat the heck out of this recipie. Wow! This frosting is so light and creamy, it really was amazing. It is so versatile, it is a great base to build off of. If it isn't sweet enough for your taste, just add more sugar, or sub some coconut milk for a tropical flair, or add lemon or any other flavoring you can think of. I can't comment on using this frosting for piping as I don't pipe, but it did set up very firm in the fridge - almost too firm. This recipie made enough to lightly frost a nine inch layer cake so I would probably double it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Good recipe. Must whip and whip. I used some vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
It was extremely greasy. I would not recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Loved this recipe! It was light and not too sweet...just a hint of sweetness. I did add approx. 1/2 tsp of vinalla after reading reviews. YUUMMM! DO NOT refrigerate if planning to use...it firms up...but at room temp it was still great! We left a few cupcakes out covered overnight and the frosting kept it's texture...was worried it would soften or melt but it was fine. My duaghter couldn't resist eating the cake b/c of the frosting. Normally she never goes bake for more...Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Delicious! i needed a quick recipe with ingredients i had on hand and came across this. I added some vanilla extract for additional flavor. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Colonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMOONSHINE5
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Wow! This frosting turned out amazingly amazing! A couple things I would mention/change: First of all, I got better results cooking the milk and flour on med-low heat, stirring constantly and ensuring it never came to a boil. Secondly, be aware that it takes a while to cook this mixture until thick (30+ min, though maybe less if I had started over higher heat) and lastly, even though the texture was much smoother than I expected, I will use superfine sugar instead of regular granulated white sugar to reduce any remaining grittiness next time I make this frosting (and I WILL make it again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMOONSHINE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Fantastic icing recipe! We love it. I would have rated it 5 stars, but it is very time consuming. As other reviewers have stated you must mix the icing A LOT. We beat it for 20 min (10 before adding the milk mixture and 10 after).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAIRMUID
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this as a gluten free version (35% sorghum flour, 35% potato starch, 30% tapioca flour - carol fenster's sorghum blend from 1000 gluten free recipes). I only give it three stars because I also found it a tad greasy and not really sweet enough. What I will do next time is more butter and less shortening (maybe only 2 tbl shortening). I also might add more sugar, or maybe some powdered in addition to the white. What I did do right: used baker's sugar instead of regular granulated. Beat the out of it for 10 minutes, let it rest for 10 minutes, beat it 5 more minutes (it was still slightly granulated, but when I added the flour mixture it became perfectly smooth). Also, I let my flour mixture get overheated and I got a big lump in the middle, but a staff mixture smoothed it out again and it didn't seem to affect the finished product (not sure if other people had similar issues, or if this was due to my special flour). I covered the flour mixture and cooled it completely in the fridge before adding. I loved the texture of this frosting, I was able to both spread it and pipe it easily. I was trying to get something similar to an Italian bakery in my neighborhood, it's *just* not quite there yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAIRMUID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States