Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I tried making this, it was an utter failure for me. I didn't have shortening, I'm not even sure i know wat that is?. and it didn't look flufly at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is a very versatile frosting that can also serve as a "fluff" layer in a cake (think Twinkies or Ho-ho's). I use this with vanilla for red velvet cake and it's an awesome peppermint fluff (tint it pink or light green) for filling or frosting. Make sure the flour mixture is cool and don't be afraid to beat the heck out of it. I've never gotten grainy results. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Ann Pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
All I can say is, WOW! Granted, I did use only butter, (equal amount to shortening-a total of 1 cup butter for this recipe), because I don't keep shortening at the house. I also used 1/2 cup whipping cream and 1/2 cup 2 percent milk for the whole milk called for. I added vanilla as others suggested. It is smooth, creamy and tastes wonderful! Tomorrow morning it's going on my chocolate cupcakes, I can hardly wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Best buttercream I've tasted, I never like buttercream frosting until I tasted this one.. We use cornstarch instead of flour and it works even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latinsyth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEFKULP
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I was looking for a frosting resipe that didn't call for 10X sugar. This was the one! It's easy, delicious, and used ingredients I always have on hand. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Follow the recipe exactly. It will work. It was not a really sweet frosting. So if your like me and like sugary frostings don't use this one. I used a bit more confectioners sugar and vanill which i thinked helped. If your not a sweet tooth use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Not sure what went wrong. I think the ingredients are listed wrong. A WASTE OF TIME AND INGREDIENTS!! Doesn't even deserve 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Robinson, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I make decorated cakes and have made hundreds of pounds of icing but I don't really like it. THIS I could eat the whole bowl. The key is MIX WELL. It is not greasy and when done correctly tastes like whipped cream. It is not overly sweet and not grainy providing you beat the fats and the sugar for 2 - 3 minutes before adding the flour mixture. I will never make cream cheese icing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This has been my favorite frosting recipe since I was a child. We always call it White Frosting, because it really is not like whipped cream. I will make these suggestions...Always use margarine rather than butter. I use butter in all of my recipes expect this one. To avoid curdling you must whip the frosting for at least five minutes or it will tend to separate. Also, my recipe calls for adding 3T flour to the milk. Lastly, add a teaspoon of the vanilla to the milk/flour mixture. This is really the best white frosting recipe out there!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ODINROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
The name of this recipe is misleading, tastes nothing like whipped cream, but does have a lighter texture to it than some frostings. I use a whole cup of real butter, since I never buy shortening (although if I did, I would use butter flavored shortening) and ALWAYS add a flavored extract (butter, vanilla, almond, ect). If you follow the directions correctly and REALLY beat the mixture well it won't look like curdled milk, it will be smooth and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States