Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This recipe was a home run hit! You do have to beat it a lot...when you think you are done, keep going....and it does help to put in your thickener when it is a tad bit warm, then there is no gritty sugary taste...I also added vanilla extract, so it would have some kind of flavor, and of course some food coloring of your choice....tasted just like the cakes at the store with the whipped cream frosting. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I needed something light and not too sweet for a diabetic friend. This recipe worked great and tasted exactly like whipped cream. Thank you...I will use this recipe ONLY from now on for all my cakes! It works great on cookies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Naturita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is one of my favorite frosting recipes that I originally got from a co-worker who got it from her mother. I specifically like to use it for filling cupcakes (chocolate ones are the best!) The first time I made it was for St. Patrick's Day cupcakes, so I substituted Bailey's for the milk to make an Irish Cream-flavored frosting. It was yummy! My recipe calls for 2-3 tbsps. of flour, and also 1 tsp. of vanilla extract, although you could also use almond, coconut, lemon, whatever you prefer. Lastly, I believe that those who complained about the grainy texture of the sugar and/or the "greasiness" from the butter did not *thoroughly* cream the butter, shortening & sugar together. You have to cream it for at least 8 minutes if you're using a stand mixer, or 10 min. w/a handheld electric mixer. Also, I don't completely cool the milk slurry before adding it to the creamed butter/sugar; if it's still a little warm (not HOT, but lukewarm), it actually helps to melt the sugar a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Very good frosting. I was looking for something that would be like the whipped frosting that bakeries sometimes put on decorated cakes. This wasn't an exact match, but it was awfully close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I've been searching for this recipe forever! My mother used to make this icing for her strawberry short-cake. It is the best ever, may need to tweak it to get the texture and level of sweetness desired. It is a great complement for fruit because it is not too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
The flavor is very light and simple. I recommend using it with a rich cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarot Witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was unanimously reviewed by friends and family as the BEST FROSTING EVER. I used icing sugar (did a little more than1 cup) , and refrigerated the flour/milk mixture before combining with everything else. It was extremely easy and came out with wonderful texture and flavor. I topped my chocolate fudge cupcakes with it. This is my new go-to frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This frosting is light and fluffy and very tasty. I followed the advice of another reviewer. I put the milk/flour mixture in the refrigerator to cool. This worked to perfection. I also added a couple of drops of vanilla for extra flavor. The texture was just like bakery whipped cream frosting...delicious! Thanks for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I have been using this recipe for years, and absolutely love it! The only thing I do differently is I add 1 tsp. vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp. almond extract. it makes all the difference in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is the best recipe I have found and I always use it and receive lots of compliments. My mom passed it on to me years ago. Much better than standard buttercream recipes that overwhelm with sweetness. When I used those, I would always find the frosting scraped off and thrown away. With this, nearly everyone so far has eaten both the cake AND the frosting. Kids may prefer sweet, but most adults are pleasantly surprised at this frosting and request the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States