Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
In defense of Tom, the man who submitted this recipe, there looks to be a few people who gave this recipe a lower rating based on the fact they had problems with the cream. To those users I'd like to say that your cream was not bad but simply, you whipped it for too long. Heavy cream that has been whipped for long periods of time will eventually go past that beautiful "stiff peak" stage into a less appealing state of ..... you guessed it, butter! Hence the butter churn from days gone by. The milky substance that accompanies the butter is known as buttermilk. (thanks grandma) I hope other users have found this information helpful and to those who already knew this..... my apologies!! Otherwise, great recipe Tom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Thank you for this simple and easy to make recipe. I no longer feel the need to use store bought frosting and it freezes well too. My family just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This is just sooo yummy. It's nice and light textured and not too sweet. I, too, used confectioner's sugar. This would go great on just about any cake, spooned over ice cream, or even just out of the bowl!!!! I, as someone else did, used it on a cassata cake from this site. Thank you, Tom!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug883

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Great recipe, and very simple to make. After reading other reviews I substitued powdered sugar in place of the granulated sugar and it turned out fantastic. I used this frosting on a cassata cake, also from this website, and the two were a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This was a great recipe, and I would make it again. Here's what I did different, based on other reviews: chilled bowl, whip, and whipping cream in freezer for 10 minutes before whipping it up; used 1 pint whipping cream, 1 pint HEAVY whipping cream; used approximately 3/4 cup powdered sugar in place of granulated (measured it first, then sifted into cream cheese mixture). SO! It was yummy and I will be making it again! I highly recommend this recipe if you are looking for something nice and light-tasting (but not light calorie wise!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
This is very good. The cream cheese gave it a great consistency. Very easy to make. I added melted chocolate to mine. Cool the chocolate before adding. Makes more than enough frosting for a two layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
OH SO GOOD...I made this recipe after reading the reviews and decided to use powdered sugar instead of granulated.It was very smooth.I would HIGHLY reccomend that you put bowl,beaters and even the heavy whipping cream into the freezer for 10 min. prior to whipping.It stiffened up nice and quick. I want to mention that I used heavy whipping cream instead of just heavy cream(not sure if it makes a difference)I used it on a Duncan Hines strawberry cake(2 layers) and it's a great contrast against the sweetness of the cake.If you want it a little sweeter add an extra 1/2c. powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I was doing wonderfully with making this recipe until I got to the heavy whipping cream. I followed the instructions on the carton such as chilling the bowl and beaters before whipping the cream. After soft peaks formed I gradually added 2 tbls. sugar and continued beating. Stiff peaks were just forming when the whole batch began to liquify. I had to toss it down the disposal since it was then unuseable. Thank goodness I had a large tub of Cool Whip in the freezer. The 9 x 12 Strawberry cake is now frosted and in the refrigerator. Tomorrow I plan to add thinly sliced, and lightly sugared strawberries to top it all off. I wished the recipe had come out as written, because there is nothing better than real whipped cream. Hmm, maybe the heavy whipping cream was outdated? Other than the snafu with the whipping cream the frosting still turned out pretty well. It is still a tad on the thin side for me and I'm hoping it will firm up in the refrigerator overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Karl-Roe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
WOW! This is the 3rd time i've used this recipe & I will never use any other frosting for my cakes EVER again! My husband eats the leftover frosting right out of the bowl! I used 2/3 cup powdered sugar instead of the regular sugar. (Too much sweetness can ruin the "fluffiness" taste). I usually make the frosting ahead of time and refrigerate it to make it a little more easy to work with. I used a butter recipe white cake mix and layered it with strawberries & bananas. Every time i've made this cake, people ask for my business card...thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This frosting is very good and certainly does make for a nice change of pace. I am not a fan of butter cream frostings, so this works for me. The only thing I changed about this recipe is the white sugar. Confectioners sugar works much better and makes for a much smoother, fluffier frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States