Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I don't know why I haven't reviewed this recipe -- I've been using it for over 3 years now. It's a soft, light casual frosting to swirl in billows nice and thick. I actually prefer to frost the cake the night before serving and let the frosting settle a bit in the fridge, it's still light that way but just a bit denser. It goes particularly well with cakes containing citrus flavor or filled with lemon curd. Leftover frosting is great on strawberries. You MUST beat the cream cheese and sugar mixture until it's smooth as silk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Completely, awesomely, EVIL! Delicious and easy to use. Doesn't deflate. Can pipe easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I really enjoyed this whipped cream frosting. I personally would of have preferred to use less cream cheese. The cream cheese was a little strong, but overall this is a really good frosting. I am not sure how it would sit, so I would have to wait and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Oh so very yummy!!! Was a little runny but worked. Definitely will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesnb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Delicious and light-tasting. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was great frosting. I made sure to freeze the bowl before I whipped the cream and it made a big difference in the consistency. It was fluffy and easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nansweetnan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haslett, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Easy and tasty. I made the recipe exactly as written including granulated sugar, to use with a Cassata recipe on this site. I put the cream cheese out in a bowl to soften for a bit, tried mixing in the sugar etc. by hand but it wasn't mixing easily. So I put it aside while I whipped the cream in a different bowl, then used the electric hand mixer on the cream cheese (didn't bother to wash the beaters, as the cream was going right in there anyway). I did use the mixer to combine the whipped cream and the cream cheese mixture. The resulting frosting was soft and fluffy. I tried piping it onto the side of the cake but gave that up pretty quickly and just spread it there with a knife, then piped rosettes on the top for a decorative effect. It held up surprisingly well in the fridge - I was worried it would slide down the sides of the cake and that the rosettes would sag into a layer of mush, but as of this morning they were still rosettes. The cream cheese flavor is more subtle than a traditional cream cheese frosting made with butter, but it is definitely there. I'll play around with this in the future - I think alternate flavorings (e.g. orange or rum extract) depending on the cake, or perhaps adding some melted chocolate or cocoa powder, would be fun. I don't think it would work well in the middle of a multi-layer cake since it's such a soft frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I loved this recipe best for my daughters bake sale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This frosting is AMAZING!! Def a keeper! I followed the instructions exactly and it was super easy. Didn't take me 2 hours though so I don't know where that came from. I wouldn't change anything about it. Perfect just the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious. A perfect frosting for the Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes by OVIEDOGIRL. To further compliment the cupcakes, I did add a splash of vanilla and pumpkin spice to the heavy whipping cream. With the exception of the two additions. I made the recipe exactly as written and it was perfect. I refrigerated the leftover frosting and its structure has remained if not improved. Well done, Tom Parker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States