Whipped Cream Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I can’t give this recipe enough stars!! I used it to frost a tres leches (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Tres-Leches-Milk-Cake/Detail.aspx) cake and it never became runny or watery it stayed perfectly on the cake and didn’t soak in either! I usually don’t make my own whipped cream because I have so much trouble with it, but this has just made it so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Made this as topping on banana cream pies. It was great! As other reviewers recommended, I increased the powdered sugar to 1/4 cup. Thanks, Cathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by w
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I think this is a great base recipe. The texture was great, but I thought it could've been a tad sweeter. I probably added closer to 3 tablespoons of confectioner's sugar. I also made a green tea version and added a tablespoon of green tea powder - it was EXCELLENT! I felt it could've used slightly more gelatin to maintain its texture, especially if you are making a dessert ahead of time and not something that's eaten right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This is a really light and fluffy pastry cream. It is perfect for a rolled chocolate cake or filling in just about anything! I will keep this recipe on hand and use it forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I have made this several times. I usually and cocoa powder and increase the sugar to at least 1/2 cup or more depending on the amount of cocoa I use. This is wonderful as a filling or frosting and there is very little that soaks into the cake. It doesn't turn watery like other whipped creams. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This was a great recipe, I have never had luck getting whipped cream to stay whipped for me, but this was just the right consistency. However I did add 1 more tablespoon of sugar, as I thought it tasted to milky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I used this as reg whipped cream since I have the hardest time getting it to peak. It thickend up nicely in the fridge. Served on top of cheese cake with strawberry sauce and chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I used vanilla and almond extract for flavor. I also used splenda. I whipped a bit more after I notice the soft picks then I stopped to make the gelatin. The tricky part is to keep the gelatin from getting hard, which I did by putting a bit more water and keep stirring before putting it into the whipping. After a few seconds when it wasn't hot I put it in the cream and immediately beat it. It worked and It was a great topping for my key lime pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I used this for a frosting on a lemon filled spongecake roll. It turned out perfectly and I didn't have to worry about plain whipped cream turning watery on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I filled eclairs with this and they were excellent. The only change I made was to increase the sugar to 4 Tbsps as when I tasted it before I whipped it, it was not quite sweet enough for my sweet tooth. Even with the increase of the sugar it wasn't terribly sweet but we liked it better. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States