Whipped Cream Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by w
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I think this is a great base recipe. The texture was great, but I thought it could've been a tad sweeter. I probably added closer to 3 tablespoons of confectioner's sugar. I also made a green tea version and added a tablespoon of green tea powder - it was EXCELLENT! I felt it could've used slightly more gelatin to maintain its texture, especially if you are making a dessert ahead of time and not something that's eaten right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This is a really light and fluffy pastry cream. It is perfect for a rolled chocolate cake or filling in just about anything! I will keep this recipe on hand and use it forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I have made this several times. I usually and cocoa powder and increase the sugar to at least 1/2 cup or more depending on the amount of cocoa I use. This is wonderful as a filling or frosting and there is very little that soaks into the cake. It doesn't turn watery like other whipped creams. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This was a great recipe, I have never had luck getting whipped cream to stay whipped for me, but this was just the right consistency. However I did add 1 more tablespoon of sugar, as I thought it tasted to milky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I used this as reg whipped cream since I have the hardest time getting it to peak. It thickend up nicely in the fridge. Served on top of cheese cake with strawberry sauce and chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I used vanilla and almond extract for flavor. I also used splenda. I whipped a bit more after I notice the soft picks then I stopped to make the gelatin. The tricky part is to keep the gelatin from getting hard, which I did by putting a bit more water and keep stirring before putting it into the whipping. After a few seconds when it wasn't hot I put it in the cream and immediately beat it. It worked and It was a great topping for my key lime pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I used this for a frosting on a lemon filled spongecake roll. It turned out perfectly and I didn't have to worry about plain whipped cream turning watery on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I filled eclairs with this and they were excellent. The only change I made was to increase the sugar to 4 Tbsps as when I tasted it before I whipped it, it was not quite sweet enough for my sweet tooth. Even with the increase of the sugar it wasn't terribly sweet but we liked it better. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I, like one of the other reviewers, looked at different food websites and wasted a lot of time!I finally looked at your site,which I should have done in the first place and found what I was looking for within minutes. This is a great recipe for puff pastry Cream Horns.I did add more confectioners'sugar(Ihave a really big sweet tooth). Thank you Cathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Very good and easy to make! It went well with my sweet potato and pumpkin pies. I will add a little vanilla next time! I don't have fancy decorating utensils, so, I used a sandwich bag. I filled it up and cut a little from the bottom corner... MASTERPIECE! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Busy2Cook

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States