Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Best. Frosting. Ever.!! I'm not a frosting lover, I prefer plain cake, but this is absolutely amazing! Light, fluffy, not too sweet, perfect consistency. I doubled the recipe and frosted a chocolate layer cake with it. I can't wait to try it tomorrow with the cake. Even my husband loves this frosting, and he is not a fan of sweet things at all. He took off with the bowl to lick it clean. Oh, I did use powdered sugar instead of regular white sugar. I substituted 1 cup white sugar with 1 3/4 cup powdered sugar (and then doubled it since I doubled the recipe). I just thought the texture would be better with powdered sugar. Anyway, this frosting is so good I would give it even more stars if it was possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
too liquidy! Even though the whipped cream was stiff, with the cream cheese mix it was too runny! I only took have of the sugar and it was sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This worked perfectly, exactly as written. I did chill the whipping-cream bowl and made sure the whipping cream was very cold and the cream cheese was almost room temperature. I used it for a sheet cake. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Just made this to frost a chocolate birthday cake. I followed the suggestions to use icing sugar, and was concerned about the texture not being firm enough to pipe, but it did firm up in the fridge after a couple of hours. The flavour is outstanding, and I mixed about a cup of the frosting with a half cup of natural peanut butter for the middle of the cake. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I replaces sugar with Just like Sugar to make a diabetic friendlier version. Used exact measurements and it was very thick. Mine didn't turn out runny at all. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This recipe is unbelievably good! I studied the comments, and ended up following the recipe exactly, BUT making sure to chill my beater and bowl in the fridge beforehand. My cream cheese had been sitting out for several hours, and so that was no problem. I also folded the two together carefully and then finished off with 30 seconds with the mixer, as one commenter suggested. It came out BEAUTIFULLY and was perfect for "Sam's Carrot Cake". I realize that one reason I normally feel guilty about carrot cake is that I have to leave the icing behind. No longer! Advice: I used regular (not confectioner's) sugar, and it worked very well. However, I was NOT piping, and frankly it didn't look stiff enough to pipe easily. I almost didn't use the entire amount of sugar because I thought it would be too sweet, but it wasn't. I followed the recipe exactly, and it's just the right amount of sweetness not to overpower the cake. So light and fluffy -- beautiful, really. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I am amazed that this recipe has gotten any bad reviews! This is by far the best cream cheese frosting I've ever had and I get rave reviews every time I use it. I'm not sure this is suppose to be a piping type frosting if that's what you are looking for. A trick I learn somewhere on the web was to beat warmed gelatin in with the whipped cream at the soft peak stage and then continue to beat until stiff peaks form. The gelatin keeps the whipped cream from separating, and in a warm room the frosting won't melt. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I was a little leery about using this recipe because of the negative reviews, but it sounded so delicious I couldn't resist... and I'm glad I didn't! It was amazing. It complimented the gluten-free vanilla birthday cake I made for my MIL bday... GF cakes tend to be dry if not eaten fresh out of the oven, so I wanted a softer-fluffier filling and icing, and this took the cake!!! I took extra precautions when making the icing because of the negative reviews... I followed amounts EXACTLY as called for, but what I did with the sugar, because I thought granulated sugar, as is, would be a little heavy (and I didn't want to risk it), I ground it to a fine powder in my spice grinder (only one cup)... and it worked. And also, I learned in a cake decorating class I took that the name brand ingredients you use DO make a difference. My instructor said that for stiff cream cheese icing, you should only use Philadelphia Cream Cheese... other cream cheeses won't hold up... no concrete explanation for why. I don't know if that will help, but this recipe did not fail me. EVERYBODY at the party loved the cake... they didn't even complain that it was gluten-free, and I'm certain it was because of how delicious this icing paired with it. oh, one more thing... I didn't even freeze the beaters or the bowl before mixing... also, the icing held up fine during the 1 hour car ride to my in-law's house. I used this icing to ice and fill a 4 layer birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena Fehr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Well here is what I do any time I use whipped cream in or on something. Add some Dream Whip. Start with a couple of tablespoons. If it's still too soft add a bit more until it is like you want it. That should set it up nicely, and it won't turn runny and soft for the rest of the day or longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States