Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I am amazed that this recipe has gotten any bad reviews! This is by far the best cream cheese frosting I've ever had and I get rave reviews every time I use it. I'm not sure this is suppose to be a piping type frosting if that's what you are looking for. A trick I learn somewhere on the web was to beat warmed gelatin in with the whipped cream at the soft peak stage and then continue to beat until stiff peaks form. The gelatin keeps the whipped cream from separating, and in a warm room the frosting won't melt. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I was a little leery about using this recipe because of the negative reviews, but it sounded so delicious I couldn't resist... and I'm glad I didn't! It was amazing. It complimented the gluten-free vanilla birthday cake I made for my MIL bday... GF cakes tend to be dry if not eaten fresh out of the oven, so I wanted a softer-fluffier filling and icing, and this took the cake!!! I took extra precautions when making the icing because of the negative reviews... I followed amounts EXACTLY as called for, but what I did with the sugar, because I thought granulated sugar, as is, would be a little heavy (and I didn't want to risk it), I ground it to a fine powder in my spice grinder (only one cup)... and it worked. And also, I learned in a cake decorating class I took that the name brand ingredients you use DO make a difference. My instructor said that for stiff cream cheese icing, you should only use Philadelphia Cream Cheese... other cream cheeses won't hold up... no concrete explanation for why. I don't know if that will help, but this recipe did not fail me. EVERYBODY at the party loved the cake... they didn't even complain that it was gluten-free, and I'm certain it was because of how delicious this icing paired with it. oh, one more thing... I didn't even freeze the beaters or the bowl before mixing... also, the icing held up fine during the 1 hour car ride to my in-law's house. I used this icing to ice and fill a 4 layer birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Well here is what I do any time I use whipped cream in or on something. Add some Dream Whip. Start with a couple of tablespoons. If it's still too soft add a bit more until it is like you want it. That should set it up nicely, and it won't turn runny and soft for the rest of the day or longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
For those of you who say this frosting is too runny: I think you may be confusing whipping cream with whipped cream. Whipping cream is also called heavy cream & is a liquid. Whipped cream is heavy cream that has been beaten until it is light & fluffy (like cool whip). This recipe calls for the whipping (heavy) cream to be beaten (step 1 of the instructions) before being folded into the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I made this recipe this morning, using 1 3/4 c. Powdered sugar instead of white sugar, and it came out PERFECT. It is light and delicious. I used it to frost cupcakes and did not have any problem whatsoever piping it. It looks Beautiful! Wish I could get my IPAD to let me upload a pic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This frosting tastes delicious! I use it all the time on red velvet cake. It's not great for firm piping or fancy presentation necessarily, but it tastes incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I still like traditional cream cheese frosting, but this is a delicious change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by becca
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This recipe is excellent, it's my go-to recipe for my strawberry shortcake cake! It's light and fluffy and it's the most beautiful frosting I can imagine. The only thing I noticed when reviewing it was that people are having trouble with the amount of cream used in the recipe because it makes the frosting a little thinner and less able to stand up than needed. The best way to get around that is not to reduce the amount of cream, because in my opinion that makes it less fluffy. I always make it by whipping the cream cheese, sugar, salt and vanilla for about 2 minutes with a stand mixer (with the whisk attachment) and then just adding the heavy cream to that mixture, and whipping it together until it's to your desired consistency. Works every time for me and turns into a gorgeous frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Oh my goodness! oh my goodness! This is one of the best recipes I've found on this site. My mother turns 95 tomorrow and when I asked her what she wanted for her birthday dinner, she said, "I don't care as long as you make that cake again with that frosting." She is raving all over her assisted living facility about her daughter's (me) fabulous cake - Betty Crocker Devil's Food boxed cake mix! I think you could smear this frosting on cardboard and it would be awesome! Followed the hints - put my bowl and beaters in the freezer for a few hours before whipping the cream. I used the entire one pint carton (can't waste this good stuff) and didn't change the other proportions. The whipping cream stiffened up nicely in about 6 minutes. Brought the cream cheese to room temp. Just frosted a two-layer 9 inch cake -really the cake is just an excuse for this frosting. It's in the fridge and will serve tomorrow. Have done it ahead like this before and the cake stays moist and the frosting just keeps getting better and better. Thanks so much for this recipe. It's becoming my claim to fame :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States