Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
THIS FROSTING IS PERFECT! LIGHT AND NOT TOO SWEET. I USED IT ON SAMS FAMOUS CARROT CAKE AND THE PAIR MADE A LASTING IMPRESSION ON MY FAMILY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Definitely a keeper, and that's from someone who bakes A LOT. Read the reviews. Used the 1-3/4 c powdered sugar. I also stabilized the whipped cream using the 1 tsp unflavored gelatin/tablespoon hot water method. I didn't want to be changing the recipe on first try, but I was making this for a birthday party and worried the frosting would be a flop without stabilizer. Interestingly, though the frosting was a bit soft going on the cake, a few hours later when I took the cake from the frig for the party, it had set up beautifully--it hadn't slumped at all. The cake looked great and the frosting tasted divine. I can't wait to try it on other cake recipes. I used this batch for hummingbird cake. Truly amazing flavor: not too sweet, not as rich/heavy as cream cheese frosting, just the right amount of lightly sweet/cheese balance. Fluffier than cream cheese frosting but more personality than whipped cream. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This frosting is the bomb!! Light, creamy and faintly sweet, without being overwhelming. I usually prefer cake without frosting, as most are so sugary sweet that it gags me. Other cream cheese frosting can be too sweet for me as well, but this recipe is just perfect! It also makes a yummy dip fir fresh fruit such as strawberries. Try it! You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
The perfect combo! I've never been a big fan of cream cheese, but this was tasty. I put it on a yummy carrot cake, but this frosting stole the show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Wow. I was nervous to make this bc of the mixed reviews and bc I usually have bad luck in my attempts to make things w heavy whipping cream. I used 1 3/4 cup powdered sugar as others suggested bc I was frosting carrot cake cupcakes and I wanted to be sure the frosting would not fall flat. I put my beaters and metal bowl in the freezer for a bit and whipped the cream for several minutes to get it thick. Then I used the same beaters to whip the cream cheese mixture (room temp). Folded together and the swirls on the cupcakes held up in the fridge overnight so we're good! I doubled the recipe and did have quite a bit leftover and so glad bc it is amazing as a fruit dip for strawberries! I plan to swirl some onto each plate as the cream to accompany the caramel macchiato cheesecake I also made for Easter- fancy and delicious! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
powdered sugar works best, so it's not gritty. You HAVE to take your time with this and really make sure the cream peaks! Otherwise it can be kinda runny. a clean, DRY and cool / cold bowl helps. Delicious recipe and always runs the risk of not making it onto the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
So good not too sweet, I will never buy pre-made frosting again. Easy to make. I made half and still ended up with extra after frosting 18 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I see where a lot of people are having issues with runny frosting. I have not had this problem with this recipe, but I have had that issue in the past with whipped cream. I use 1c powdered sugar and when the cream cheese mix seemed too stiff I added just a little granulated sugar to thin it out. I have found that using just granulated sugar makes it too loose. The powdered sugar stiffens and gives it more of a frosting consistency. Also I refrigerate my frosting until cake is totally cooled or served warm and add frosting at the table. (makes a yummy gooey mess with warm spice cupcakes) I love this recipe: I dislike too sweet, grainy frostings; this is perfect, low sugar, light, and easy to substitute fake sugar(splenda) for all the diabetics. But the Splenda will make it more runny than powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I cut the recipe in half to make less, however I think I might have used the same amount of sugar... It was delicious... It was not runny I used it on top of cupcakes. I think it's possible the people who experienced it being runny you did not beat your heavy cream long enough. And I did not beat the whipped cream and the cream cheese together I mixed it in with a spatula. Definitly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I read the majority of the comments before i made them, some of which scared me, almost to the point of not trying it. However, with such high ratings, I figured it was successful for more people than it wasn't, so I went for it. A coworker had asked for a chocolate cake with chocolate frosting, and I wanted something light. I followed the instructions to a T, with the exception of adding 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa with the sugar (I used granulated white), and the results were superb! I used my Kitchen-Aid stand-up mixer, and literally drizzled the chilled whipping cream into the bowl as it was mixing. It turned out to be the perfect consistency for frosting (not for decorating) - exactly as the poster said - and it wasn't too sweet. In a word, it was PERFECT! My niece, who hates frosting, tasted it and told me I could use it on all her cakes! I am still trying to find the perfect buttercream, but this is going to be my go-to frosting. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States