Whipped Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I love this cake. My favorite since childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Skippers, Virginia, USA
Photo by Tito
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
"Very light and airy, used plain flour/ cornstarch mixture in place of cake flour. I wrapped it up once it was cool to the touch"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Very soft & moist. I reduced sugar to 1 cup & it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great cake - big hit with the family. I topped mine with hulled and halved strawberries (cut side down) and baked it in a 9x13 cake pan. The strawberries sunk to the bottom leaving a pretty pink/red layer at the base. Great with Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is so fabulously fluffy.....it was like eating a fluffy vanilla cloud!!!! You will love this if you like a light and fluffy cake. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I took a look at other commenters' suggestions and dialed down the baking powder to 2 tsp. I also noted several comments about how quickly the cake dried out. I tried substituting part of the whipping cream (1/4 c) with some canola oil, so there was 2 1/4 cups of whipping cream instead of 2 1/2. It seems to have made a difference, but I may adjust it a bit further and add a slightly more oil next time I make this. The crumb is still a bit drier than I like. That being said, this is a nice change from some of the eggy truck tires I've been making in yellow/golden cakes from scratch. Nice light taste and texture and it's a very easy and painless cake to prepare. I recommend you serve this the day you make it and not to let it stay in the pan any longer than 10 minutes or so while cooling. Keep an eye on the cooking time. In my oven, 20 minutes wasn't quite long enough but I think 25 minutes was just a smidge too long. I will be making it again -- I only gave it a 3-star rating because I modified the recipe a bit. (It drives me crazy whenever someone rates something 5 stars but it's based on the massive changes they made, not the recipe as it is on the site!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I'm impressed with this cake. Its has a pound cake type of texture. The down side is I find it too sweet. I intend to try it again with less sugar. all in all I got a tasty buttery cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this recipe with a few modifications - 1. I followed naples34102 method 2. I have a dairy allergy so I substituted non-dairy cream (i believe it was sweetened cashew almond cream). This was the best white cake I have ever made and definitely the best cake I have had since realizing my allergy! It was very rich, airy, and moist. I was hesitant after reading the reviews about cakes drying out in less than 24 hrs but I have not had that issue and I have cooked 1-2 layer cake and a dozen cupcakes with a 1 layer round. I did over bake the cupcakes which made them very spongy and dry but that was completely my fault. I made it once with regular flour and deducted some as the other reviewers suggested and the second time I made it with cake / pastry flour with no noticeable difference in texture or dryness. This is now my standard go to cake. A great recipe with excellent and predictable results, even for dairy free bakers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
It was light and lovely. My family loved it.Don't know what I did wrong though, it wasn't crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Wow, this recipe is amazing! I used all purpose flour, subtracting 2 tbsp per cup, and a little extra baing powder, as other reviewers suggested. The result was moist, fluffy, delicious cake that I couldn't put down! It almost seems a shame to frost it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States