Whipped Carrots And Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
I made this instead of mashed potatoes and it was absolutely delicious. It has a nice, delicate flavor. So easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was great, I did not blend it though (I was wanted texture to the dish) so I hand mashed the veggies and it was a super side dish that was lighter than mashed potatoes and a nice change from plain carrots-thanks for the recipe, will include it in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
My family is from Ireland and I grew up with this recipe. As kids we used to call it Carsnips and Parrots. This combo is great in a soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
We LOVED this recipe. The only change I made was to add about 1 Tbsp of real maple syrup when I was blending..apart from that, I kept it the same. It was absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I usually roast parsnips, leeks, carrots and garlic Thats my favorite;This turned out great tasted like my sweet potato mix for pies nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I only used carrots in this (I had some left over that I wanted to use up) and they still turned out great. It's so simple, but much better tasting and more interesting than just boiling carrots. I think I will try a little less butter next time. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
De...licious! Just like my grandma used to make. Brought back many memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Great flavor in this dish. I added 2 pinches of brown sugar, a dribble of maple syrup and topped of with a few dashes of cinnamon for extra flavor! Yummy.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I grew up eating this....It's not Thanksgiving or Christmas without these! We even grew our own parsnips this year. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goosegreetings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I needed an excuse to use my new food processor I got for Christmas and didn't even know what a parsnip was, but i found its very close to the texture and shape of a carrot which made them blend together perfectly. It doesn't taste like anything else, it is very unique. I added extra butter and a pinch of sugar which helped to blend the flavors. I loved it!! My fiancee, however described it as "interesting" and did not ask for seconds. I guess it's not for people who are opposed to new tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States