Whipped Cardamom Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
These potatoes were incredibly easy. I was so grateful I didn't have to peel them, and once they were baked the rest was a snap. They got rave reviews from my family. Best of all, they didn't need added sugar or syrup, so our diabetics didn't have to compensate for it. The cardamom gave it interesting flavor and the fried shallots were a nice complement. It was a terrific addition to our Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This is a really sophisticated and easy way to dress up sweet potatoes, especially for those of us who don't like the gooey sweet marshmallowed variety. Even without the fried shallots, this is a tasty dish full of beta carotene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JRTNCORGI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
VERY tasty recipe, I love the cardamom with the sweet potatoes. I made this for Thanksgiving last year and it went fast, I am looking forward to having it again this year! You can even leave the butter out and it's just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe for sweet potatoes. Simple yet delicious. We just tried it yesterday for our Thanksgiving dinner and all our guests loved it! The cardamom taste is amazing and adds a unique flavor to it. We mixed sweet potatoes with yams which gave us a nice mix of colors (yellow and orange). We will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I prepared this for Tday and it was delicious. I actually made it the day before which worked out well. Every year I forget the diff between yams and sweet potatoes but now I know that the orange/red ones are the way to go. I had made sweet potato pie so I really didn't want a syrupy marmellowy side dish. This did the trick. It reminded me of the sweet potatoes I used to get at an upscale restaurant. I think I overcooked my shallots but they were still good. I served them on the side because I figured the kids wouldn't want them (I was correct). Thanks for the yummy recipe. I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
The cardamom adds so much depth to this otherwise simple recipe. I made them for our "fancy" christmas dinner and everyone raved (even the little ones)! I skipped the fried shallots and instead put the potatoes into a caserole dish and sprinkled with brown sugar. Then put it under the broiler until the brown sugar was crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
An excellent alternative to the traditional, overly sugared sweet potato recipes you usually see (especially for the holidays). The cardamom adds an interesting flavor and you can really taste the sweet potatoes. I made most of this ahead of time for Christmas dinner, reheated the potatoes in the oven and then fried the shallots to add right before we sat down - a huge time saver! Next time I will try "mashing" the potatoes in the food processor to get them extra creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I liked this very much since it is a bit different than the traditional sweet potato recipes. I did not try the shallots, as they are not popular down south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Love a savory sweet potato dish, and this one is popular with my family as well. Cardamom is a favorite flavor--thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These sweet potatoes were very simple to make and delicious. I did not add any butter; didn't feel like I was missing anything. The shallot topping really made the dish! My friends all asked me for the recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venus

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States