Whipped Cardamom Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
These potatoes were incredibly easy. I was so grateful I didn't have to peel them, and once they were baked the rest was a snap. They got rave reviews from my family. Best of all, they didn't need added sugar or syrup, so our diabetics didn't have to compensate for it. The cardamom gave it interesting flavor and the fried shallots were a nice complement. It was a terrific addition to our Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I liked the combination of flavors in this recipe. I am a fan of cardamon. However, I would simply fork mash the Sweets next time to give them a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARINEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This is a really sophisticated and easy way to dress up sweet potatoes, especially for those of us who don't like the gooey sweet marshmallowed variety. Even without the fried shallots, this is a tasty dish full of beta carotene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JRTNCORGI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I *loved* this recipe. The cardamom flavor went amazingly well with the sweet potatos. I used garnet yams and also skipped the shallots all together. The only downside was they were a bit too thick. Next time I will add some milk to make them creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
delicious!!! make extra shallots because people hog them - it was the only dish at thanksgiving that was completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOKAAUGUNUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
These were quite tasty. I like the flavor of sweet potatoes (and they're good for you!), but I am NOT a fan of the whole marshmallow/brown sugar thing. I also didn't have shallots but used mild red onion in its place, which was okay, though next time I would chop it rather than slice it in rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
VERY tasty recipe, I love the cardamom with the sweet potatoes. I made this for Thanksgiving last year and it went fast, I am looking forward to having it again this year! You can even leave the butter out and it's just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe for sweet potatoes. Simple yet delicious. We just tried it yesterday for our Thanksgiving dinner and all our guests loved it! The cardamom taste is amazing and adds a unique flavor to it. We mixed sweet potatoes with yams which gave us a nice mix of colors (yellow and orange). We will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I prepared this for Tday and it was delicious. I actually made it the day before which worked out well. Every year I forget the diff between yams and sweet potatoes but now I know that the orange/red ones are the way to go. I had made sweet potato pie so I really didn't want a syrupy marmellowy side dish. This did the trick. It reminded me of the sweet potatoes I used to get at an upscale restaurant. I think I overcooked my shallots but they were still good. I served them on the side because I figured the kids wouldn't want them (I was correct). Thanks for the yummy recipe. I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
The cardamom adds so much depth to this otherwise simple recipe. I made them for our "fancy" christmas dinner and everyone raved (even the little ones)! I skipped the fried shallots and instead put the potatoes into a caserole dish and sprinkled with brown sugar. Then put it under the broiler until the brown sugar was crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States