Whipped Cardamom Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Heaven. I didn't whip the sweet potatoes, really no need. The butter makes it very yummy but if you're watching fats then it can easily do with less. It would still taste fine. The shallots are great, but carmelized onions would work if you can't find shallots. I spent a lot for shallots at a specialty store and it really wasn't any different than onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Cardamom makes the sweet potato flavor EXPLODE! I'm serving them tonight with a pork roast. Absolutely delicious : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These are fantastic! I didn't whip them, just used a masher. Everyone loved them and the deep fried shallots are a winner. These will become part of the rotation. Simple, different and oh so savoury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I know this sounds crazy but I've perhaps eaten sweet potatoes only in pie - which is mostly eggs, butter, and sugar. I've resolved to eating whole, un-processed foods this new year. And I will now be buying shallots and sweet potatoes in bulk because this was soooo delicious. Now I can proudly say I love sweet potatoes, and not just in pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These sweet potatoes were very simple to make and delicious. I did not add any butter; didn't feel like I was missing anything. The shallot topping really made the dish! My friends all asked me for the recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venus
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Love a savory sweet potato dish, and this one is popular with my family as well. Cardamom is a favorite flavor--thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I liked this very much since it is a bit different than the traditional sweet potato recipes. I did not try the shallots, as they are not popular down south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Very good - interesting flavor. I think I like the cardamom better than cinnamon. I skipped the scallions; I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this recipe with the canned fried onion bits on top that people often use on green bean casserole, instead of shallots, because one of my kids has a huge aversion to onions but will eat those canned things. Excellent even with that substitution. Someday I will make them following the recipe more exactly, too. Truth be told, the cardamom is an excellent addition to the mashed sweet potatoes and they would make a fine side dish even without any onions at all. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was extremely good. The cardamom gave it just enough extra flavor that really made these not just simple to make, but really made it look like I had gone to more trouble than I had. I even pulled about half of the mixture and put it into a casserole dish and topped with marshmallows, because we had never tried sweet potatoes with marshmallows. Well, it was this one that was gone before the "plain" mashed ones! I recommend this recipe for anyone who loves sweet potatoes, it gives it some uniqueness but leaves what you love about them in tact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States