Whipped Cardamom Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This recipe is excellent! The shallots on top, while not essential, do add a really interesting taste. I also have made them with the durkee onion topping (like used on a green bean casserole), which was also well received. I'd never thought of using cardamon this way, but really like it. I really dislike all the sweetened sweet potato recipes,with brown and/or white sugar, marshmallows (a particular dislike!), honey, maple syrup, etc. Sweet potatoes are already sweet!, and don't deserve to be made into candy! This is a fine alternative. I suspect it would work well with winter squash, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
rather than ground cardamom, i crushed some pods and infused these with the butter over a low heat for 15-20 mins, which i strained just before use and added a little honey to accentuate the sweetness.. 5 star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
omg! So deelish! It's so simple yet the flavor is out of this world. Cardamom is expensive but well worth it! I love how I didn't have to peel the sweet potatoes too. I used some Smart balance instead of butter to save a few calories and it was AWESOME! This will be my go-to recipe for Thanksgiving and Xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These were really good! I would personally add more cardamom next time I make these but I really like cardamom! I'd also add more shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Excellent potatoes, I really enjoyed the cardamom, which takes a simple dish to the next level. I didn't whip the potatoes, I just mashed them up with a fork. I used cayenne pepper rather than white pepper, but otherwise I stuck to the recipe. The fried shallots are the perfect finish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These weren't bad. I love sweet potatoes and love, love, love cardamom, and while they went nicely together, there was a little too much cardamom and my husband kept saying they tasted dessert-y. Also, for texture and ease, I just mashed the potatoes with a fork since they were incredibly soft after roasting. When you try these, cut back on the cardamom, but just by a pinch or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this recipe for Christmas dinner and it turned out great! Everyone loved it. Hands down, best sweet potato dish I've ever had. No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
this was not a hit at our Christmas dinner. We do not usually do the marshmallow candied yam thing, so I thought this would be good-not too sweet but still traditional. Nobody really ate it, not even my mom who loves sweet potatoes and cardomom, just not together apparently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBANDTM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
The idea of combining sweet potatoes and cardamom is great. I didn't have onions or shallots so I skipped that step. But I did add 4 tbsp of brown sugar to the mix. Then salted lightly to taste (not needed if using salted butter) and skipped the pepper. I also added a little extra cardamom because I wanted to strengthen that flavor since it makes the whole dish special. Definitely roast the potatoes in the oven because IMHO that adds more flavor. Consider letting the potatoes cool until lukewarm because then you can just remove the skins by hand. Some reviewers did not like this whipped but that's just a personal preference. I thought the smooth texture was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Not a bad flavor, but good sweet potatoes just end up competing with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States