Whipped Cardamom Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
The cardamom adds so much depth to this otherwise simple recipe. I made them for our "fancy" christmas dinner and everyone raved (even the little ones)! I skipped the fried shallots and instead put the potatoes into a caserole dish and sprinkled with brown sugar. Then put it under the broiler until the brown sugar was crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
These potatoes were incredibly easy. I was so grateful I didn't have to peel them, and once they were baked the rest was a snap. They got rave reviews from my family. Best of all, they didn't need added sugar or syrup, so our diabetics didn't have to compensate for it. The cardamom gave it interesting flavor and the fried shallots were a nice complement. It was a terrific addition to our Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
VERY tasty recipe, I love the cardamom with the sweet potatoes. I made this for Thanksgiving last year and it went fast, I am looking forward to having it again this year! You can even leave the butter out and it's just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
These were quite tasty. I like the flavor of sweet potatoes (and they're good for you!), but I am NOT a fan of the whole marshmallow/brown sugar thing. I also didn't have shallots but used mild red onion in its place, which was okay, though next time I would chop it rather than slice it in rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
delicious!!! make extra shallots because people hog them - it was the only dish at thanksgiving that was completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOKAAUGUNUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I liked the combination of flavors in this recipe. I am a fan of cardamon. However, I would simply fork mash the Sweets next time to give them a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARINEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These are fantastic! I didn't whip them, just used a masher. Everyone loved them and the deep fried shallots are a winner. These will become part of the rotation. Simple, different and oh so savoury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These weren't bad. I love sweet potatoes and love, love, love cardamom, and while they went nicely together, there was a little too much cardamom and my husband kept saying they tasted dessert-y. Also, for texture and ease, I just mashed the potatoes with a fork since they were incredibly soft after roasting. When you try these, cut back on the cardamom, but just by a pinch or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was extremely good. The cardamom gave it just enough extra flavor that really made these not just simple to make, but really made it look like I had gone to more trouble than I had. I even pulled about half of the mixture and put it into a casserole dish and topped with marshmallows, because we had never tried sweet potatoes with marshmallows. Well, it was this one that was gone before the "plain" mashed ones! I recommend this recipe for anyone who loves sweet potatoes, it gives it some uniqueness but leaves what you love about them in tact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These were really good! I would personally add more cardamom next time I make these but I really like cardamom! I'd also add more shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States