Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I liked the taste of this dish but I must say that it's light orange color and squooshy consistency made it impossible to serve to kids. They simply refused to eat it, as did some of the less mature adults at the table. :) Also, it's unpleasant to eat when it gets lukewarm. Just a warning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
12/04 edit - My recipe with some changes since '01 - Baked the squash cut side up for more density and that made for a firmer whipped end product. You can also throw the whole mixture back in the oven to cook out some of the excess mositure. Try some Tabasco Chipotle for a little extra spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Served this for Christmas Dinner. Guests loved it and so did we.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This was NOT a hit with our family. It was way to close to baby food butternut squash and the sour cream overpowered the squash. It reminded us of baked potatoes. We won't be making this one again-kids wouldn't touch it and adults only ate enough to be polite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! Use in place of traditional mashed potatoes and you will not be disappointed! A wonderful kick to liven up any meal! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I used this for Thanksgiving ('02) and received rave reviews. I intend to repeat the performance for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
This recipe was very good! I took Doug's updated advice and baked it after I whipped it and some of the moisture did bake out of it. It still was a bit runny so the next time I made it, I put some seasoned bread crumbs on the top before baking. This added some extra "texture" to the dish and the flavor contrast was nice. By the way, I also substituted cream cheese for the sour cream. VERY tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is a great side dish. I added just 1oz of cream cheese to make it a little sweeter and firmer. Great combination. Great complement for spicy meat (like jerk shrimp). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I have a recipe that is similer, but very different. First instead of bakinf it with water, bake cut side up with just enough water to keep it from burning and cook a much shorter time(you want it soft but firm). Cut the sour cream in half and add a couple of tablespoons of brown sugarand some cinnamon. Because of the sugar and cinnamon the kids will love it and by not cooking it so long you will have a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Hmm. This was okay. Roasted it in the over without water and had no problem with moisture. Just a bit bland, even with salt and pepper. Needs...something. If you're looking for a mild side to serve with something more bold, this would probably work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States