Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was surprisingly good, since I'm not a huge fan of squash all by itself (love stuffed squash though). Nice flavor, I used less margarine and sour cream than called for, but more than some of the reviewers. Good Thanksgiving side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was really pretty good. My family wouldn't touch it, but I like it alot. A little bland, but I like my squash on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was pretty good! I think next time I will reduce the amount of sour cream. It was very rich and I was only able to eat a small amount, but that's okay! It also seemed to help fill me up for the rest of the meal (I nibbled a bit as I made this). We cooked the squash for an hour, cut side down, and it was VERY soft. We didn't even need to use anything to whip this up other than a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
As written I think this would not turn out very well. I reduced the sour cream to 1/4 cup, used 1/4 butter and omitted the salt and pepper. I whipped it up and then stired in some brown sugar and a bit of cinnamon. Everyone loved it but it really was a pretty big departure from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I tried this recipe before and gave it 4 stars. This time I made a few slight changes and WOW what a difference!! You can easily microwave the squash, place skin side down on large plate(prick skin first all over) heat for about 15-20 minutes til tender, I sprinkled with salt and pepper too. Then do NOT use marg..please do yourself a favour and use REAL butter!! Also a tiny pinch of brown sugar and a dash of cinnamon (shhh) it's the secret ingredient!! Add a good dose of REAL butter again just before serving and a little S & P too. This got rave reviews for my Canadian Thanksgiving dinner and I've been craving it ever since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Personally, I like the butternut squash just plain, without any sour cream. It surprisingly sweet, without any sugar or honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Very good, I tasted it before adding the sour cream and I think next time I won't add any sour cream-the squash flavor was better that way. I added just 1/2 cup sour cream-my picky husband liked this recipe. First time cooking a whole squash-pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
My father is a big squash fan, so I made this for him and he loved it. I love that it's not saturated with too much spices, or flavors, so it lets the butternut squash flavor ride on it's own. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This recipe was a good beginning, but not very health-conscious, so I used 1/2 cup fat-free sour cream and no butter/margarine. Turned out well, but next time I think I will reduce the sour cream even more, to 1/4 cup. If you like butter on veggies, the I Can't Believe It's Not Butter 0-calorie spray was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I had a butternut squash and had no idea how to cook it or what to do with it. So, I tried this. We loved it. I used just a spoon of butter and a spoon of sour cream. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States