Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
i made this recipe simpler because i was trying to find something easy for my mom to make and healthy.. i bought the already cubed butternut squash in a package, seasoned with salt and pepper and garlic powder and cooked it at 375 for about an 1 hr 15 min.. then i mashed it and added 3 tbsp of "i cant belive its not buttter" and thats it.. easy and healthy side dish! thanks for the inspiration
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Just ok, I either like my squash sweet with brown sugar or savory like the Amazing Squash recipe with onions. This one I could really taste the sour cream which I thought I would like but I didn't...sorry. I just want to read a recipe and not change things too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I just finished making this in preparation for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow! Excellent with a few modifications suggested by other reviewers: I used 2 large butternut squash that I baked for 1 1/2 hours in 1 inch of water until very soft. I added 1 c of sour cream, about 4 T butter, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and cloves. I used quite a lot of spice- just kept adding until it tasted right. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla- delicious! I whipped it in my kitchenaid mixer but not too smooth- past experience told me that it would turn into a babyfood consistency! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This definitely inspired me- I took it a little further and added 1/2 c. canned carrots, a couple drops of truffle oil and didn't whip it up, but instead smashed it with a fork for a lumpier texture. I'm addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is really great - simpl to make and tastes delicious! I was pressed for time so I boiled the squash for 30 minutes instead of baking it for an hour, but it still came out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Great recipe, really easy! To make it low fat I substituted skim milk for the margarine and used fat free sour cream. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I gave it a 4 'cause I was inspired by this recipe. I did 1 large squash in the microwave (8 minutes, turn over, 8 minutes, leave steaming for 10). I used the sour cream and butter... but after I blended, I added a cup of unsweetened applesauce, too. Turned out YUMMY! Thanks for posting your recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is a 5 with my modifications, which were minimal. I baked the squash (I used one long heavy one) cut side down in a 1/4 inch of water, at 375 degrees, for a LONG TIME. When the skin is burning, the squash is done. This brings out the flavor and mellows out the texture of winter squash. I scooped it out and added 2-3 TB of butter and about 2/3 cup sour cream. No salt or pepper - instead a heatlhy sprinkling of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and allspice (about a pinch of each?). Blended well with a hand-mixer. This was FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
LOVED THIS RECIPE! Like other reviews I cooked the squash with some cinnamon. Had to use 1/4 cup of cream cheese and 2 tablesppons half and half instead of the sourc ream and it turned out awesome. I will definately make again with the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This combination of flavors is awful. It has a grainy texture. I don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States