Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
delicious taste! I gave this 4 stars because the technique was awful. to fill & cover with water, is A LOT of water which made it heavy and difficult to get in and out of the oven. also, scraping the squash out of the skin was a bit of a task. 1 hour was too long; the skin was too soft to even spoon it out. there must be an easier method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Makaha, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
needs to be warmed up in the oven after you add the sour cream & butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
SO GOOD! We haven't actually eaten yet, but I had a little taste and am sure this will become a new fall and winter favorite! I added a little brown sugar and cinnamon as someone suggested. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Scrumptious! I won't be using an entire cup of sour cream next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very tasty and easy to make. Made with acorn squash, as there was no butternut available. It's nice to have squash without added sweetness. Creamy and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I made the recipe as suggested by Allison on this thread. I microwaved it after I poked holes in the skin and added S & P. After, I added about 3 tablesppons of margarine and cinnamon and brown sugar. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by las21202

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Added a touch of garlic salt...otherwise delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dravosburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was too runny, next time would add 1/2 the sour cream and butter recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Simple but delicious. The flavor of the squash is highlighted with the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
i made this recipe simpler because i was trying to find something easy for my mom to make and healthy.. i bought the already cubed butternut squash in a package, seasoned with salt and pepper and garlic powder and cooked it at 375 for about an 1 hr 15 min.. then i mashed it and added 3 tbsp of "i cant belive its not buttter" and thats it.. easy and healthy side dish! thanks for the inspiration
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States