Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
As written this is a little ho-hum as well as slightly problematic but a couple of quick and easy fixes make this the perfect squash side dish. First, use butter, not margarine - nothing beats the taste of real butter. Second, season this up. I don't like cinnamon or any sweetness with squash, nor do I like any seasoning that overpowers. A little garlic powder would have been fine, but I also added some Penzey's Fox Point Seasoning as well. Don't add the full amount of sour cream called for or you'll risk making this too "sloppy." Once mixed, I turned the squash into a baking dish and put it in a 350 degree oven for about 25 minutes till heated through. This also dried it out a little and gave it a thicker consistency. When you make this, think mashed potatoes, and what you'd do with them - it would work for this too. Once out of the oven I topped it with another dab of butter and a sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley. Now this was good - thick and creamy, delicately seasoned with a subtle and pleasant tang. This would make a great Thanksgiving dish as it would be very easy to hold in a warm oven or Crock Pot until serving time. Hubs and I both enjoyed this a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Wow, what a pleasant surprise this was!! I absolutely loved it! Yes, I can see how people would add brown sugar, cinnamon, etc. to this but it changes what this particular recipe is supposed to be. Both ways are excellent(but DIFFERENT RECIPES!). Thank you, Dave, for a very easy & delicious recipe!! Love, love, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Can't...stop...eating...augghhh! >_
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I tweak this recipe by adding about 1/4 c pancake syrup and sometimes a dash of nutmeg. Real butter is a must. Make it extra creamy by using the food processor. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Watery, but good. Needs more thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria T

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I thought that this was pretty good and a nice change from just having mashed potatoes with dinner. My 20 month old really loved them too, so a definite winner in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I love this. You can't go wrong with butternut squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My family loved this....even my daughter who only took a tsp. to please her Mom...she came back for seconds....really so delicious,....I did add the extra cinnamon, allspice, small pinch of cloves etc......will definitely keep this one. Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a very good recipe but after reading some of the reviews I decided to add cinnamon. What wound up happening is that the finished dish looks like sweet potato, smells like sweet potato, and tastes like squash with cinnamon.... I'm going to try it with out the cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great recipe. For healthier alternatives, I used non-fat greek yogurt instead of sour cream and the Brummel & Brown vegetable spread made with yogurt instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States