Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I tried this recipe before and gave it 4 stars. This time I made a few slight changes and WOW what a difference!! You can easily microwave the squash, place skin side down on large plate(prick skin first all over) heat for about 15-20 minutes til tender, I sprinkled with salt and pepper too. Then do NOT use marg..please do yourself a favour and use REAL butter!! Also a tiny pinch of brown sugar and a dash of cinnamon (shhh) it's the secret ingredient!! Add a good dose of REAL butter again just before serving and a little S & P too. This got rave reviews for my Canadian Thanksgiving dinner and I've been craving it ever since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is a 5 with my modifications, which were minimal. I baked the squash (I used one long heavy one) cut side down in a 1/4 inch of water, at 375 degrees, for a LONG TIME. When the skin is burning, the squash is done. This brings out the flavor and mellows out the texture of winter squash. I scooped it out and added 2-3 TB of butter and about 2/3 cup sour cream. No salt or pepper - instead a heatlhy sprinkling of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and allspice (about a pinch of each?). Blended well with a hand-mixer. This was FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I have a recipe that is similer, but very different. First instead of bakinf it with water, bake cut side up with just enough water to keep it from burning and cook a much shorter time(you want it soft but firm). Cut the sour cream in half and add a couple of tablespoons of brown sugarand some cinnamon. Because of the sugar and cinnamon the kids will love it and by not cooking it so long you will have a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
As written this is a little ho-hum as well as slightly problematic but a couple of quick and easy fixes make this the perfect squash side dish. First, use butter, not margarine - nothing beats the taste of real butter. Second, season this up. I don't like cinnamon or any sweetness with squash, nor do I like any seasoning that overpowers. A little garlic powder would have been fine, but I also added some Penzey's Fox Point Seasoning as well. Don't add the full amount of sour cream called for or you'll risk making this too "sloppy." Once mixed, I turned the squash into a baking dish and put it in a 350 degree oven for about 25 minutes till heated through. This also dried it out a little and gave it a thicker consistency. When you make this, think mashed potatoes, and what you'd do with them - it would work for this too. Once out of the oven I topped it with another dab of butter and a sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley. Now this was good - thick and creamy, delicately seasoned with a subtle and pleasant tang. This would make a great Thanksgiving dish as it would be very easy to hold in a warm oven or Crock Pot until serving time. Hubs and I both enjoyed this a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
12/04 edit - My recipe with some changes since '01 - Baked the squash cut side up for more density and that made for a firmer whipped end product. You can also throw the whole mixture back in the oven to cook out some of the excess mositure. Try some Tabasco Chipotle for a little extra spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
This recipe was very good! I took Doug's updated advice and baked it after I whipped it and some of the moisture did bake out of it. It still was a bit runny so the next time I made it, I put some seasoned bread crumbs on the top before baking. This added some extra "texture" to the dish and the flavor contrast was nice. By the way, I also substituted cream cheese for the sour cream. VERY tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RandySweet
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
So delicious. I could live on Butternut Squash - won't part with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Personally, I like the butternut squash just plain, without any sour cream. It surprisingly sweet, without any sugar or honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I had a butternut squash and had no idea how to cook it or what to do with it. So, I tried this. We loved it. I used just a spoon of butter and a spoon of sour cream. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
As written I think this would not turn out very well. I reduced the sour cream to 1/4 cup, used 1/4 butter and omitted the salt and pepper. I whipped it up and then stired in some brown sugar and a bit of cinnamon. Everyone loved it but it really was a pretty big departure from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States