Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Found it didn't need quite as much butter and sour cream. Could be reduced without changing the flavor and squash wouldn't be quick as "runny"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Unbelievable!! My girls actually ate squash!! Very tasty! I baked the squash covered, halved side up with about 1" of water. I also added a little cinnamon and sugar. I think the sour cream is what gives it that awesome flavor! Will become part of the weekly dinner rotation!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was good, but tasted a lot like just having baked potatoes with sour cream. Family liked it but next time I will try it using PALS suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Skaggs Frisone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I loved this recipe! I haven't cooked squash much but this was easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
My whole family loved this recipe after they got past the looks of it. There were many jokes. It's easy to make and VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Hmm. This was okay. Roasted it in the over without water and had no problem with moisture. Just a bit bland, even with salt and pepper. Needs...something. If you're looking for a mild side to serve with something more bold, this would probably work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I have a recipe that is similer, but very different. First instead of bakinf it with water, bake cut side up with just enough water to keep it from burning and cook a much shorter time(you want it soft but firm). Cut the sour cream in half and add a couple of tablespoons of brown sugarand some cinnamon. Because of the sugar and cinnamon the kids will love it and by not cooking it so long you will have a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is a great side dish. I added just 1oz of cream cheese to make it a little sweeter and firmer. Great combination. Great complement for spicy meat (like jerk shrimp). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
This recipe was very good! I took Doug's updated advice and baked it after I whipped it and some of the moisture did bake out of it. It still was a bit runny so the next time I made it, I put some seasoned bread crumbs on the top before baking. This added some extra "texture" to the dish and the flavor contrast was nice. By the way, I also substituted cream cheese for the sour cream. VERY tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I used this for Thanksgiving ('02) and received rave reviews. I intend to repeat the performance for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States