Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I cooked this at Christmas after quickly pulling off the recipe....it was the dinner fav!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was so delicious and easy to make. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was my very first time attempting to do anything with some nice looking butternut squash. My whole family loved the whipped recipe. I made a few changes. Used only 1/2 cup of sour cream, and added some brown sugar and whip cream. Yum yum. I am keeping this thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was surprisingly good, since I'm not a huge fan of squash all by itself (love stuffed squash though). Nice flavor, I used less margarine and sour cream than called for, but more than some of the reviewers. Good Thanksgiving side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was really pretty good. My family wouldn't touch it, but I like it alot. A little bland, but I like my squash on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was pretty good! I think next time I will reduce the amount of sour cream. It was very rich and I was only able to eat a small amount, but that's okay! It also seemed to help fill me up for the rest of the meal (I nibbled a bit as I made this). We cooked the squash for an hour, cut side down, and it was VERY soft. We didn't even need to use anything to whip this up other than a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
As written I think this would not turn out very well. I reduced the sour cream to 1/4 cup, used 1/4 butter and omitted the salt and pepper. I whipped it up and then stired in some brown sugar and a bit of cinnamon. Everyone loved it but it really was a pretty big departure from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I tried this recipe before and gave it 4 stars. This time I made a few slight changes and WOW what a difference!! You can easily microwave the squash, place skin side down on large plate(prick skin first all over) heat for about 15-20 minutes til tender, I sprinkled with salt and pepper too. Then do NOT use marg..please do yourself a favour and use REAL butter!! Also a tiny pinch of brown sugar and a dash of cinnamon (shhh) it's the secret ingredient!! Add a good dose of REAL butter again just before serving and a little S & P too. This got rave reviews for my Canadian Thanksgiving dinner and I've been craving it ever since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
439 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Personally, I like the butternut squash just plain, without any sour cream. It surprisingly sweet, without any sugar or honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Very good, I tasted it before adding the sour cream and I think next time I won't add any sour cream-the squash flavor was better that way. I added just 1/2 cup sour cream-my picky husband liked this recipe. First time cooking a whole squash-pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States