Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Just ok, I either like my squash sweet with brown sugar or savory like the Amazing Squash recipe with onions. This one I could really taste the sour cream which I thought I would like but I didn't...sorry. I just want to read a recipe and not change things too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I just finished making this in preparation for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow! Excellent with a few modifications suggested by other reviewers: I used 2 large butternut squash that I baked for 1 1/2 hours in 1 inch of water until very soft. I added 1 c of sour cream, about 4 T butter, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and cloves. I used quite a lot of spice- just kept adding until it tasted right. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla- delicious! I whipped it in my kitchenaid mixer but not too smooth- past experience told me that it would turn into a babyfood consistency! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This definitely inspired me- I took it a little further and added 1/2 c. canned carrots, a couple drops of truffle oil and didn't whip it up, but instead smashed it with a fork for a lumpier texture. I'm addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is really great - simpl to make and tastes delicious! I was pressed for time so I boiled the squash for 30 minutes instead of baking it for an hour, but it still came out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Great recipe, really easy! To make it low fat I substituted skim milk for the margarine and used fat free sour cream. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I gave it a 4 'cause I was inspired by this recipe. I did 1 large squash in the microwave (8 minutes, turn over, 8 minutes, leave steaming for 10). I used the sour cream and butter... but after I blended, I added a cup of unsweetened applesauce, too. Turned out YUMMY! Thanks for posting your recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is a 5 with my modifications, which were minimal. I baked the squash (I used one long heavy one) cut side down in a 1/4 inch of water, at 375 degrees, for a LONG TIME. When the skin is burning, the squash is done. This brings out the flavor and mellows out the texture of winter squash. I scooped it out and added 2-3 TB of butter and about 2/3 cup sour cream. No salt or pepper - instead a heatlhy sprinkling of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and allspice (about a pinch of each?). Blended well with a hand-mixer. This was FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
LOVED THIS RECIPE! Like other reviews I cooked the squash with some cinnamon. Had to use 1/4 cup of cream cheese and 2 tablesppons half and half instead of the sourc ream and it turned out awesome. I will definately make again with the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This combination of flavors is awful. It has a grainy texture. I don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RandySweet
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
So delicious. I could live on Butternut Squash - won't part with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States