Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is really great - simpl to make and tastes delicious! I was pressed for time so I boiled the squash for 30 minutes instead of baking it for an hour, but it still came out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Great recipe, really easy! To make it low fat I substituted skim milk for the margarine and used fat free sour cream. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I gave it a 4 'cause I was inspired by this recipe. I did 1 large squash in the microwave (8 minutes, turn over, 8 minutes, leave steaming for 10). I used the sour cream and butter... but after I blended, I added a cup of unsweetened applesauce, too. Turned out YUMMY! Thanks for posting your recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is a 5 with my modifications, which were minimal. I baked the squash (I used one long heavy one) cut side down in a 1/4 inch of water, at 375 degrees, for a LONG TIME. When the skin is burning, the squash is done. This brings out the flavor and mellows out the texture of winter squash. I scooped it out and added 2-3 TB of butter and about 2/3 cup sour cream. No salt or pepper - instead a heatlhy sprinkling of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and allspice (about a pinch of each?). Blended well with a hand-mixer. This was FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
LOVED THIS RECIPE! Like other reviews I cooked the squash with some cinnamon. Had to use 1/4 cup of cream cheese and 2 tablesppons half and half instead of the sourc ream and it turned out awesome. I will definately make again with the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This combination of flavors is awful. It has a grainy texture. I don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RandySweet
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
So delicious. I could live on Butternut Squash - won't part with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I cooked this at Christmas after quickly pulling off the recipe....it was the dinner fav!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was so delicious and easy to make. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was my very first time attempting to do anything with some nice looking butternut squash. My whole family loved the whipped recipe. I made a few changes. Used only 1/2 cup of sour cream, and added some brown sugar and whip cream. Yum yum. I am keeping this thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States